Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We have recently been able to unlock Performing Arts Content in this database!
Dance in Video (and Audio)
NEW: Free Broadcast of Rite of Spring
Dance in Video
Dance in Video contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
Digital Theatre Plus
Over 200 live full length productions – including Digital Theatre’s own recordings alongside collections such as BBC, Royal Shakespeare Company, Broadway Digital Archive, Royal Opera House, London Symphony Orchestra, Shakespeare’s Globe etc… And including audio radio-plays from LA Theatre Works. Over 140 in-depth interviews with industry professionals including actors, directors as well as all backstage staff: lighting technicians, fight coordinators, stage managers et al.
On the Boards
OntheBoards.tv, a website that delivers full-length, high quality contemporary performance films to your TV, desktop or mobile device.
The library package includes 19 Broadway plays, including a few musicals.
Naxos Video Library
The world's leading Performing Arts DVD distributor brings you an extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. Watch the world's greatest opera houses, ballet companies, orchestras and artists perform on demand!
Kanopy Streaming Video
Content includes 233 Dance videos.
UbuWeb Dance is presented in partnership with and is largely curated by Contemporary Dance Video Database
An ever-growing collection of dance videos filmed at Jacob’s Pillow from the 1930s to today.
Jacob's Pillow Post-Show Talks (via YouTube)
Post-Show Talks are held on Fridays in the Ted Shawn Theatre and Thursdays in the Doris Duke Theatre and offer an opportunity for audiences to gain more insight into performances directly from the artists themselves.
Videos to accompany "Dance Instruction Manuals" by
75 video clips that illustrate portions of the Dance Instruction Manuals, selected from two events: "Society Dances and Parlor Amusements in The Great Hall," on October 15, 1997; and on April 14, 1998. All time periods are represented in these videos.
International Folk Dance (Audio)
Audio files of music from around the world for folk dancing that has long been out of print. Most of it consists of 78RPM transcriptions. Many of the vinyl recordings are actually transcribed from older 78s.
The Dance Oral History Channel
Clips selected from more than 4,000 audio recordings that make up the Dance Division’s Oral History Archive and Project at the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts. Diverse recordings document the voices and ideas of performers, choreographers, scholars and producers, working in all areas of dance.
Performing Arts Librarian