Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Pro/Con Issues Databases
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)
A dynamic online library of current event topics--the facts, as well as the arguments, of each topic's proponents and detractors.
The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports. Search or browse by topic and/or issue; 1991-present.
2,500 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled periodicals collection, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, government information and EBSCO's Current Issues database
World History Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
CIA World Factbook
Provides a country-by-country listing of basic statistical and factual information. A few miscellaneous areas such as Antarctica and the West Bank are also included. Entries average two pages in length. Updated annually.
Oxford English Dictionary (Online)
The OED Online contains the complete searchable text of over half a million words from the 20 volume 2nd Edition. 1000 new and revised entries added quarterly.
General Background Resources
Britannica Online is one of the most comprehensive, authoritative information databases on the Internet. It contains three encyclopedias, Encyclopedia Britannica, Britannica Student Encyclopedia, and Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia. Itis continually updated to provide the most current information possible. Access to over 150 full-text journals is included at no additional cost with subscriptions to Britannica Online.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO)
Provides the full-text of over 25,000 encyclopedic entries searchable by subject or keywords. Updated annually.
Live Library Chat