Subject Guides: History--World: Bibliographies & Chronologies

Online Bibliographies by Country/Region

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES) (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window

European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
Handbook of Latin American Studies 1932-1995. Indexes and abstracts scholarly evaluations of books, book chapters, articles, and conference papers published worldwide in the field of Latin American Studies.

Book Resources for Bibliographies by Country/Region

The American bibliography of Russian and East European studies
Call Number: DJK 1 .X1 A43x
It contains bibliographic records for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications
An annotated guide to current national bibliographies
Call Number: Z 1002 .B4714 1986
ISBN: 0859641236
Annual bibliography of British and Irish history
Call Number: DA 30 .X1 A5
Bibliographie annuelle de l'histoire de France du cinquième siècle à 1945
Call Number: DC 38 .X1 B53
Aims to provide a comprehensive listing of new research in French history. Covers fifth century A.D. to 1958
A bibliography of British history, 1914-1989
Call Number: DA 566 .R63x
ISBN: 0198224966
Guide for research in early modern European history at Brigham Young University
Call Number: D 57 .X1 J46 1988
International African bibliography: Bibliografie internationale africaine
Call Number: DT 3 .X1 I58
Books, articles, and papers on all aspects of African studies are organized by broad geographical regions and by subjects within those sections.
The American bibliography of Russian and East European studies
Call Number: DJK 1 .X1 A43x
For all aspects and periods of German history, this serial bibliography, published in German, is the most complete listing
Latin American studies: A basic guide to sources
Call Number: F 1408 .X1 L378
ISBN: 0810822369
Middle East Studies Association bulletin
Call Number: DS 41 .M533
Writings on British history
Call Number: DA 30 .X1 W74

Bibliographies by Period

Guide to the sources of medieval history
Call Number: D 117 .C2213
ISBN: 0720407435
Introduction to ancient history
Call Number: D 62 .X1 B413
ISBN: 0520017234
Medieval studies: A bibliographical guide
Call Number: CB 351 .X1 C76
ISBN: 0824091078
International medieval bibliography
Call Number: D 117 .X1 I63
Published in January and July, lists articles, notes, and essays, but not books on medieval topics. Covers A.D 450-1500. About 1,000 journals and some 100 festschriften are surveyed.

Book Resources

Historical periodicals directory
Call Number: D 20 .H654x
ISBN: 0874360188
A directory of historical publications arranged by country of publication. Volume 5 has title, subject and geographic index.
Annual bulletin of historical literature
Call Number: D 5 .X1 H65
This publication provides a selective and critical review of recent historical books, journals and articles covering all periods of history
The American Historical Association's guide to historical literature
Call Number: D 20 .X1 A627 1995 vol.2
ISBN: 0195057279
Selection of the best books, periodicals and libraries for all countries and periods.
International bibliography of historical sciences
Call Number: D 5 .X1 I61
Bibliography of European and American books and articles on all countries and periods

Live Library Chat

Chat requires JavaScript.

Chronologies

Chronicle of the World
Call Number: D 11 .C56 1996
ISBN: 078940334X
Chronology of World HIstory
Call Number: D 11 .M39 1999
ISBN: 1576071553
The Encyclopedia of World History
Call Number: D 21 .E578 2001
ISBN: 0395652375

Helpful Hints

Why Use Bibliographies?

Use bibliographies from the background sources to identify:

Books on your topic
Experts in the field
Additional keywords and phrases to use in your research

Find published bibliographies by doing an "Books & More" Advanced Search. Put keywords from your topic in the first "Any field" box. Then type the word "bibliography" in the Subject field.

Subject Librarian

Brian Wages

Email Me

Contact:

1225 HBLL

801-422-3809

Subjects: History & Geography, Social Sciences