Skip to main content

History and Art of the Book: Articles

Periodical Indexes

Highly recommended

 

Annual Bibliography of the History of the Printed Book and Libraries (ABHB)

Special Collections Reference Z 117 .A55

The best index to use for history and art of the book is Annual Bibliography of the History of the Printed Book and Libraries (ABHB), covering 1970 to the present. ABHB is an annual international survey of the literature, both journal articles and monographs, covering scholarly books and articles relating to the history of the printed book and libraries, and to book production, distribution, conservation, description and analysis. Also included are articles referring to the history of the arts, crafts, techniques, and equipment in relation to books, and to the book and library in their economic, social and cultural environment. Unfortunately it is quite slow coming out, and is currently eight or nine years behind. The latest volume has been digitized and others may follow. Search the Library catalog under Annual Bibliography of the History of the Printed Book (electronic resource)

Each volume of ABHB contains an index of personal names but no subject index. A cumulated subject index was published as vol. 17A covering 1970 to 1986. 

Bibliographie der Buch- und Bibliotheksgeschichte (BBB)

Special Collections Reference Z 4 .B54

This German-language index also covers monograph and periodical publications worldwide, beginning 1980. Unfortunately it ceased publication with the 2003 volume.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts

Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts (LISTA) with Full Text indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. This database also contains full text for more than 330 journals. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.


Other indexes

 

The following indexes are not primarily devoted to the history and art of the book, but may contain relevant materials.

Art and Architecture Source

Art Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.

ATLA Religion Database (EBSCO)

A Religious Studies database. This database produced by the American Theological Library Association includes information on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. References come from more than 600 journals and other sources and are in 35 languages. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Terms of use: NO systematic downloading. Use of the database is for personal, non-commercial use only.

Bibliography of the History of Art - BHA (CSA)

Humanities Source

The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.

International Medieval Bibliography

Multidisciplinary bibliography (including classical studies) of Europe, North Africa and the Near East covering the period 300-1500 A.D.

Iter - Resources in European Middle Ages and Renaissance

Indexes citations of articles in over 600 journals covering the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

JSTOR

1984-present. Updated 4 times a week. Indexes and abstracts over 500 periodicals in art, archaeology, classical studies, communications, film, theatre, literature, folklore, etc. Full-text for only 180+ publications since 1995. Includes reviews of books, films, plays and links to web sites and original works of fiction, drama, and poetry. Search using WilsonWeb commands. JSTOR focuses on humanities, social science, and more recently, science titles which have proven themselves vital to these disciplines and which have many years of publication, in some cases going back to the 19th century.

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)

Terms of use: NO systematic downloading. Use of the database is for personal, non-commercial use only.

Project Muse

Full text of over 200 scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences and mathematics. For a list of book history and book arts journals included click here.

Your Librarian

Robert L. Maxwell's picture
Robert L. Maxwell
Contact:
6728 Harold B. Lee Library

Brigham Young University

Provo, Utah 84602

(801)422-5568

robert_maxwell@byu.edu

Find Magazines and Journals at BYU

Once you have found an article, search here by journal title to find the journal in the Library. This search covers both electronic and print journals.