MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowMLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations about literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
Historic Literary Criticism (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowHistoric Literary Criticism is a collection of over 20,000 historical contemporary reviews, essays and commentary related to more than 500 influential authors from the 17th to the early 20th century. The content comes from a range of sources such as contemporary periodicals as well as published and unpublished letters. The cornerstone of the collection comes from the renowned Critical Heritage series from Routledge.
Gender Watch (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowA full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. Contains archival material dating back to the mid 1970s.
Women's Studies International (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowWomen's Studies International covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 548,220 records of journal articles, newspapers, books, newsletters, reports, NGO studies, dissertations, etc. It spans from 1972 and earlier to the present, including Women Studies Abstracts (1984-) and Women's Studies Database (1972-), and several bibliographies. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowThis multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 10,000 journals, including over 9,000 peer-reviewed titles. Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, womens studies, zoology and more.
Literature Resource Center (LRC)(Gale)This link opens in a new windowProvides access to biographies, bibliographies, critical analysis, and Web resources of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors. Search by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes.
Gerritsens Women's History OnlineThis link opens in a new windowThis database is the definitive cross-cultural resource for information on women's history. It spans more than four centuries and 15 languages and includes over two million pages in full image. Users can trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of that country's feminist movement on other countries and their movements. The Gerritsen Collection also provides immediate access to many primary sources from around the world that were previously available only in a limited number of rare book rooms. This database includes Woman's Exponent and Young Women's Journal.
Contemporary Women's Issues (Gale)This link opens in a new windowCWI is a multidisciplinary, full-text database that covers mainstream periodicals, gray literature, and the alternative press. Covers a spectrum of women's concerns and events that influence women's lives. International coverage. Extensive indexing.
Godey's Lady's BookThis link opens in a new windowFirst successful American journal for women. Resource for the study of 19th Century American history and important social issues of the day. Covers social history, women's studies, textiles studies, material culture and literature. Many of America's greatest authors were first published in Godey's. Accessible Archives covers 1830-1885.
Also search the HBLL catalog under specific subjects for journals treating "feminism," "women's writing," etc.
Publishes conventionally constructed or digitally-born essays on British and American poetry and poetry criticism from 1750-1900. Essays and electronic critical essays need no discuss the Poetess tradition, they may focus on other kinds of poetry written between 1750 and 1800, but should reflect an awareness of competing poetic traditions and aesthetics.
Find publication or subscription information about specific journals/periodicals.
MLA Directory of Periodicals (EBSCO)This link opens in a new window1970+ Lists over 3700 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics and folklore, supplying addresses, publication information and guidelines for submission. Updated annually.
UlrichswebThis link opens in a new windowContains information about periodicals published world-wide. Each record provides publishing information, price, state date, where it is indexed, email links, submission requirements, whether articles are peer reviewed etc. Updated daily.
Use one of these tools to import references of books, articles, and websites into folders and keep them organized. Create in-text citations and format your bibliography for your paper too.
RefWorksThis link opens in a new windowThe new RefWorks 3.0 lets you save and share an unlimited number of references, full-text, and other research materials. Generate bibliographies and citations and integrate with either Word or Google Docs.
ZoteroThis link opens in a new windowA free Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources.