Defining Gender, 1450-1910This link opens in a new windowDefining Gender, from Adam Matthew, provides access to a vast body of original source material from British and European archives that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology, education and cultural studies from a gendered perspective.
Perdita Manuscripts: Women Writers, 1500-1700This link opens in a new windowThe quest of the Perdita Project has been to find early modern women authors who were lost because their writing exists only in manuscript form. This database from Adam Matthew Digital contains manuscripts written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries which have been sourced from archives and libraries across the United Kingdom and the USA.
Godey's Lady's BookThis link opens in a new windowCovers 1830-1885. Many of America's greatest authors were first published in Godey's, the first successful American journal for women. Resource for the study of 19th Century American history and important social issues of the day. Covers social history, women's studies, textiles studies, material culture and literature. From History Commons, formerly Accessible Archives.
Black Women Writers (ASP)This link opens in a new windowWith 100,000 pages of prose, poetry, and essays, Black Women Writers brings together the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora in electronic format for the first time. Facing sexism and racism at the same time, these authors have had to create their own identities and movements. This collection documents that effort from its earliest beginnings. Presenting works from many different countries in three continents, and a variety of cultural experiences, the database gives a view of black womens struggles through time; the challenges of a group facing issues that are, together, unique to this literature.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries (ASP)This link opens in a new windowA Historical Primary Source database. This database includes diaries and letters from British and Irish women. All types of women's diaries are included. Features the writings of famous as well as "ordinary" women of the time period. Covers 300 years of personal writings.
Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries (ASP)This link opens in a new windowManuscript Women's Letters and Diaries from the American Antiquarian Society brings together 100,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts, Semantically Indexed and online for the first time. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society. It currently contains over 69,000 pages.
North American Women's Drama (ASP)This link opens in a new windowThis edition of Women's American Drama contains 235 plays by 67 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The plays themselves have been selected using leading bibliographies and with the assistance of our editorial board. Women's American Drama uses PhiloLogic software, developed at the University of Chicago, to enable in-depth browsing and searching of both the bibliographic and the full-text elements within the database.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries (ASP)This link opens in a new window1675 - 1950. Full text database containing the letters and diaries of 1500 women. Includes biographies and annotated bibliographies of the sources.
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period (ASP)This link opens in a new windowA compilation of over sixty volumes of lyric poetry by Scottish women, written between 1789 and 1832 in full text. Includes 51 authors with biographical information on each and criticisms and reviews of their works.
The Lily: A Temperance and Feminist Newspaper, 1849-1856This link opens in a new windowThe Lily, the first newspaper for women, was issued from 1849-1853 under the editorship of Amelia Bloomer. It began as a temperance journal but gradually included articles about other subjects of interest to women particularly women's rights. Many of the articles were penned by Elizabeth Cady Stanton who wrote about temperance, child-bearing, education and women's rights, writing about laws unfair to women and demanding change. From History Commons, formerly Accessible Archives.
Feminism in Cuba, 1898-1958 (Gale)This link opens in a new windowThis collection, compiled from Cuban sources, spans the period from Cuban independence to the end of the Batista regime. The collection sheds light on Cuban feminism, women in politics, literature by Cuban women and the legal status of Cuban women.
Use one of these tools to import references of books, articles, and websites into folders and keep them organized. Create in-text citations and format your bibliography for your paper too.
RefWorksThis link opens in a new windowThe new RefWorks 3.0 lets you save and share an unlimited number of references, full-text, and other research materials. Generate bibliographies and citations and integrate with either Word or Google Docs.
ZoteroThis link opens in a new windowA free Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources.
