Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Robert Burns Collection: Reference Works

Guide to the Robert Burns Collection at L. Tom Perry Special Collections

New resources in Special Collections

Bibliographies and Catalogs

McKie, James. Bibliotheca Burnsiana: life and works of Burns: title pages and imprints of the various editions in the private library of James M’Kie, Kilmarnock, prior to date 1866. Kilmarnock: James M’Kie, printer, 1866.

    Call number: Burns Collection PR 4338 .X1 M7 1866

Gibson, James. The bibliography of Robert Burns: with biographical and bibliographical notes, and sketches of Burns clubs, monuments and statues. Kilmarnock: Printed by J. McKie, 1881. Limited edition of 600 copies; BYU copy is no. 119.

    Call number: Burns Collection PR 4338 .X1 G5 1881

Ewing, James Cameron. Bibliography of Robert Burns, 1759-1796. Edinburgh: Privately printed, 1909.

    Limited edition of 36 copies, reprinted by permission from the publications of the Edinburgh Bibliographical Society. BYU has no. 1, numbered and signed by author. Presentation copy to Charles R. Cowie, with his bookplate.

    Call number: Burns Collection PR 4338 .X1 E83 1909

Cook, Davidson. Burns manuscripts in the Honresfeld collection of Sir Alfred James Law. Glasgow: Printed for private circulation, 1928. Presentation copy, inscribed to J. De Lancey Ferguson.

    Call number: Burns Collection Quarto PR 4338 .A1a no. 121

Egerer, J.W. A bibliography of Robert Burns. [First collected edition.] Edinburgh; London: Oliver & Boyd, 1964.

    Call number: Burns Collection PR 4338 .X1 E35 1964

Concordances, Indexes, Encyclopedias, and Glossaries

Ross, John Dawson. Who’s who in Burns. Stirling: Eneas MacKay, 1927.

    Call number: Burns Collection PR 4330 .R6 1927

MacKay, James A. Burns A-Z: the complete word finder. Dumfries: J. Mackay Pub., 1990. Subscribers’ edition limited to 500 copies; BYU copy is no. 492. Presented to the Robert Burns Collection by the author.

    Call number: Burns Collection PR 4345 .M33 1990

Lindsay, Maurice. The Burns encyclopedia. Third edition, revised and enlarged. New York: St. Martin’s Press; London: R. Hale, 1980.

    Call number: Burns Collection PR 4330 .L5 1980

Scots words from Burns: a glossary of words used in the works of Robert Burns. Edinburgh: Albyn Press, 1975.

    Call number: Burns Collection PR 4348 .S3 1975

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Maggie Kopp
Contact:
1130 HBLL
(801) 422-6276

Visit Special Collections