These items are representative of the numerous works in the Burns Collection about or inspired by geographical places associated with the poet — including monuments to Burns’ memory which have been erected in and outside of Scotland.

Ainslie, Hew. A pilgrimage to the land of Burns: containing anecdotes of the bard, and of the characters he immortalized, with numerous pieces of poetry, original and collected. Deptford [London]: Printed for the author by W. Brown, 1822.

Call number: Vault Collection 821.679 Ai65 1822

Wilson, John. The land of Burns: a series of landscapes and portraits, illustrative of the life and writings of the Scottish poet. Glasgow; Edinburgh; London: Blackie and Son, ca. 1840.

Call number: Burns Collection PR 4334 .L36 1840 v. 1-2

Tweed’s Tourists’ guide to the land of Burns and the south of Scotland, over the Glasgow and south-western railway. Glasgow: John Tweed, ca. 1878

Call number: Burns Collection PR 4334 .T954 1878

Watson, William. The tomb of Burns. Illustrated by David Young Cameron. London; New York: John Lane, 1904.

Call number: Burns Collection PR 4338 .A1 no.82

Goodwillie, Edward. The world’s memorials of Burns. Detroit: The Waverley Publishing Co., 1911.

Call number: Burns Collection PR 4335 .G7 1911

Smeaton, Oliphant. The footsteps of Burns from Doonside to Dumfries. Thistle library series. Edinburgh: Valentine & Anderson, Ltd.; Dundee; London: Valentine & Sons, Ltd., ca. 1920.

Call number: Rare Collection Agate PR 4334 .S6 1920

Official handbook of Burns’ House, Dumfries and other memories of the national poet. Dumfries: Robert Dinwiddie, ca. 1935.

Call number: Burns Collection PR 4334 .B985 1935

Fergus, Andrew. Burns’s Scotland. Illustrated by John Mackay. Edinburgh: Blackwood, 1978.

Call number: Burns Collection PR 4334 .F4

Edwards, Nat. Burns National Heritage Park. Alloway: Burns National Heritage Park, 2003.

Call number: Burns Collection Quarto PR 4338 .A1a no. 123