These items are a sampling of the many books, pamphlets, periodicals, and ephemera in the Burns Collection which illustrate Burns’ place in popular culture and his status as a Scottish national symbol. These holding include publications related to Burns Clubs and Burns Suppers and artistic and literary works inspired by Burns’ life and works.

Ballantine, James, ed. Chronicle of the hundredth birthday of Robert Burns. Edinburgh; London: A. Fullarton & Co., 1859.

Call number: Burns Collection PR 4335 .B3 1859

Robert Burns’ centenary illustrated memorial. Edinburgh: W.H. White & Co.; London: Simpkin, Marshall, Hamilton, Kent & Co., Ltd., 1896.

Call number: Burns Collection PR 4338 .A1 no. 26

Mackay, James A. The Burns Federation, 1885-1985. Kilmarnock: Burns Federation, 1985.

Call number: Burns Collection PR 4329 .M23 1985

Douglas, Hugh. The Burns supper companion. Darvel, Ayrshire: Alloway Pub., 1998.

Call number: Burns Collection PR 4338 .A1 no. 72

Cairney, John, ed. Immortal memories: a compilation of toasts to the immortal memory of Robert Burns as delivered at Burns Suppers around the world together with other orations, verses, and addresses, 1801-2001. Edinburgh: Luath Press, 2003.

Call number: Burns Collection PR 4329 .I46 2003

Illustrated songs of Robert Burns. Edinburgh: For the Members of the Royal Association for the Promotion of the Fine Arts in Scotland, 1861.

Call number: Burns Collection Quarto PR 4302 .R7 1861

Hendry, Hamish. Burns from Heaven: with some other poems. Glasgow: D. Bryce and son, 1897. Limited edition of 260; BYU copy is no. 68.

Call number: Burns Collection PR 4335 .H4 1897

Steuart, John A. The immortal lover: a Burns romance. Philadelphia; London: J.B. Lippincott, 1929.

Call number: Burns Collection PR 4331 .S7 1929

Barke, James. Immortal memory series. London: Collins, 1946-54.  Vol. 1: “The wind that shakes the barley;” vol. 2: “The song in the green thorn tree;” vol. 3: “The wonder of all the gay world;” vol. 4: “The crest of the broken wave;” vol. 5: “The well of the silent harp.”

All in Burns collection, various call numbers.

Crozier, Eric. Rab the rhymer: a play in three acts on the life and songs of Robert Burns. London: J. Garnet Miller Ltd., 1953.

Call number: Burns Collection PR 4338 .A1 no. 67

Westwood, Peter J. The deltiology of Robert Burns, the national poet of Scotland: his life and works as told through the media of the illustrated postcard. Dumfries: Creedon Publications, 1994. Limited edition of 600; BYU copy is no. 40 and is signed by the author.

Call number: Burns Collection Quarto PR 4335 .W58 1994

Addressing the bard: twelve contemporary poets respond to Robert Burns. Edinburgh: Scottish Poetry Library, 2009.

Call number: Burns Collection PR 1228 .A66 2009