Skip to main content

Wordsworth: Books

Patria Wright, Contributor

Search For Books

Specific Resources

Books:

De Sélincourt, E. Wordsworthian and Other Studies. New York: Russell & Russell, 1964.   Call Number: PR 453 .D4 1964

Gill, Stephen ed., Cambridge Companion to Wordsworth. New York: Cambridge UP, 2003   Call Number: PR 5888 .C27 2003

McCracken, David. Wordsworth and the Lake District: A Guide to the Poems and their Places. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1984.   Call Number: PR 5884 .M35 1985

Reed, Mark L. Wordsworth: The Chronology of the Early Years, 1770–1799. Cambridge, Mass: Harvard UP, 1967; Wordsworth: The Chronology of the Middle Years1800–1815. Cambridge, Mass: Harvard UP, 1975.  Middle Years Call Number: PR 5882 .R43 1975

Sheats, Paul D. The Making of Wordsworth’s Poetry, 1785-1798. New York: Cambridge UP, 1973.   Call Number: PR 5888 .S47

Wu, Duncan. Wordsworth's Reading, 1770–1799. New York: Cambridge UP, 1993.; Wordsworth's Reading, 1800–1815. New York: Cambridge UP, 1995.   Call Numbers: PR 5892 .B6 W8 1993, PR 5892 .B6 W82 1995

Collections of Works:

The Cornell Wordsworth. General editor Stephen Parish. 21 vols., Ithaca, NY: Cornell UP, 1975–2007. 

The Prose Works of William Wordsworth, ed. W.J.B. Owen and Jane Worthington Smyser. 3 vols., Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1974.

The Poetical Works of William Wordsworth, ed. Ernest De Sélincourt and Helen Darbishire. 5 vols., Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1940–49.

 Letters:

Letters of William and Dorothy Wordsworth, ed. Ernest De Sélincourt; The Early Years, 1787–  1805, revised by Chester L. Shaver. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1967; The Middle Years, 1806–11, revised by Mary Moorman. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1967; The Middle Years, 1812-1820, revised by Mary Moorman and Alan G. Hill. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1970; The Later Years, 1821–53, revised by Alan G. Hill. 4 vols., Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1978–88.   Call Number: PR 5881 .A48 1967 vol.1-8

The Letters of Mary Wordsworth 1800-1855, ed Mary E Burton. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1958.  Call Number: Rowe Collection PR 5881 .A43 1958

The Love Letters of William and Mary Wordsworth, ed. Beth Darlington. Ithaca, NY: Cornell UP, 1981.  Call Number: PR 5881 .A483 1981

Wordsworth and Reed: The Poet's Correspondence with his American Editor: 1836–1850, ed. L.   N. Broughton. Ithaca, NY: Cornell UP, 1933.   Call Number: Rowe Collection PR 5881 .A46 1933

Biographies:

Barker, Juliet R. V.  Wordsworth: A Life.  New York : Ecco, 2005.  Call number: Rowe Collection PR 5881 .B27 2005

Gill, Stephen.  William Wordsworth: A Life. New York: Oxford UP, 1989.  Call number: Rowe Collection PR 5881 .G55 1989

Johnston, Kenneth R.  The Hidden Wordsworth: Poet, Lover, Rebel, Spy. New York: W.W. Norton, 1998.  Call number: Rowe Collection PR 5882 .J65 1998

Mahoney, John L.  William Wordsworth: A Poetic Life. New York: Fordham UP 1987.  Call number: Rowe Collection PR 5881 .M33 1997

Sisman, Adam.  The Friendship: Wordsworth and Coleridge. New York: Viking, 2007.  Call number: Rowe Collection PR 5883 .S57 2007

19th-Century Biographies:

De Quincey, Thomas. Recollections of the Lakes and the Lake Poets. Edinburgh: Adam and Clarkes Black, 1862.  Call Number: Rowe Collection PR 4534 .R43 1862

Knight, William Angus. The Life of William Wordsworth. Vol. 1-3. Edinburgh: William Paterson, 1889.  Call number: Rowe Collection PR 5881 .K52x 1889 vol.1-3

Wordsworth, Christopher. Memoirs of William Wordsworth. Vol. 1-2. London: Edward Moxon, 1851.  Call number: Rowe Collection PR 5881 .W6 1851 vol. 1-2

Get Help

Humanities  Reference
Level 5
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm

801.422.4006
humref@byu.edu

Call Numbers

PR 5850-5898  William Wordsworth
PR 5849 .A6- 79   Dorothy Wordsworth

 

Bibliography Managers

Use one of these tools to import references of books, articles, and websites into folders and keep them organized.  Create in-text citations and format your bibliography for your paper too.


 

Get Zotero