Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
C19 Index draws on the strength of established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC), The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index, Periodicals Index Online and the Cumulative Index to Niles' Register 18111849 to create integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.7 million books and official publications, 70,000 archival collections and 20.9 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers. C19 Index now provides integrated access to 13 bibliographic indexes, including more than three million records from British Periodicals Collections I and II, together with the expanded online edition of the Dictionary of Nineteenth-Century Journalism (DNCJ).
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Alternate title: 19th Century Collections Online (Gale). NCCO includes British Politics and Society; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; and British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture.
19th Century UK Periodicals (Gale) This link opens in a new window
19th Century UK Periodicals is a major multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. It is mainly based on the repositories of the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, the National Library of South Africa, the National Library of Australia, and many others.
Web Concordances and Workbooks This link opens in a new window
On-line concordances to Shelley (Selected Poems); Coleridge (Rime of the Ancient Marineer); Keats (Odes of 1819); Blake (Songs of Innocence and of Experience); Wordsworth and Coleridge (Lyrical Ballads); and Gerard Manley Hopkins (Poems 1918).
Wordsworth Variorum Archive This link opens in a new window
Romantic Circles This link opens in a new window
Romantic Circles is a refereed scholarly Website devoted to the study of Romantic-period literature and culture. It is published by the University of Maryland and supported, in part, by the Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities (MITH), and the English Departments of Loyola University of Chicago and the University of Maryland.
The Romantic Chronology This link opens in a new window
This chronology offers visitors an in depth chronology of events and publications throughout the Romantic Period.
Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape This link opens in a new window
Presenting the manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust, this digital collection offers students and researchers of the Romantic period unique access to the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers of the Lake Period, including Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey. Offers biographies, facsimiles, pictures, maps, and more. From Adam Matthew Digital.
Cornell Wordsworth Collection This link opens in a new window Literature Criticism Online LCO (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Essays in literary criticism that represent a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.
Literature Resource Center (LRC)(Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, critical analysis, and Web resources of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors. Search by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes.
English Language & Literatures Librarian
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm
Use one of these tools to import references of books, articles, and websites into folders and keep them organized. Create in-text citations and format your bibliography for your paper too.