Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biology 130: Welcome

Librarian

Profile Photo
Mike Goates
Contact:
(801) 422-6012
Subjects: Geology, Life Sciences

Welcome & How to Get Help

Welcome to the Biology 130 library guide.If you need help, please click on the "Schedule an Appointment" link under my photo or contact the Science & Engineering Help Desk.

Library Introduction

Library Lab Overview

Library Lab Finding Sources

Check This Out!

AccessScience

AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material covering all major scientific disciplines. An award-winning gateway to scientific knowledge, it offers links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for teachers. 

Embase

Embase covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus.

OneZoom Tree of Life

OneZoom Tree of Life is committed to heightening awareness about the diversity of life on earth, its evolutionary history and the threats of extinction. OneZoom allows you to explore the tree of life in a completely new way: it's like a map, everything is on one page, all you have to do is zoom in and out. OneZoom also provides free, open source, data visualization tools for science and education, currently focusing on the tree of life.

Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE)

Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format.

Evaluating Sources

ScholarsArchive

ScholarsArchive is Brigham Young University’s institutional repository for the scholarly and creative content produced by the University. ScholarsArchive makes research, publications, and data produced by BYU faculty and students available worldwide.

Pivot- Community of Science

Pivot provides information on a variety of research and funding opportunities. It provides global and local connections that strengthen research by exploring new avenues for funding and collaboration for faculty, staff researchers, and graduate students.

Peer Review Tutorial

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences- eLS

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (eLS) is a comprehensive encyclopedia of all subjects in the life sciences. Each article is peer-reviewed and written by experts in the discipline of the biological subjects. About 20% of the articles are updated each year.

 

Have a Question? Get Help Here

Science & Engineering Help Desk

Hours:
Mon - Thurs: 8 am - 9 pm
Fri: 8 am - 6 pm
Sat: 10 am - 6 pm
 
(801) 422-2987
 
Chat loading...

Library Lab Assignment

Below is a link to your library lab assignment.