The Art Song : A Research and Information Guide by Douglas SeatonThose who study art song (settings of existing poetry for voice and piano) know and respect this book. It provides an excellent place to begin looking for information on a variety of topics, especially the historical background of the composers and poets. While it is now somewhat out of date, the references are all well-researched and well-documented.
Call Number: ML 128 .S3 S33 1987 (Reference Collection)
Publication Date: 1987-03-01
Library Resources for Singers, Coaches, and Accompanists by Ruthann B. McTyreThis annotated bibliography provides access to more than 500 books, journals, and electronic resources. There are chapters listing dictionaries and encyclopedias for opera and musical theater, biographical sources, guides to vocal literature and repertoire, and resources for vocal pedagogy and for the stage.
Call Number: ML 128 .V7 M47 1997 (Reference Collection)
Publication Date: 1998-07-30
Masters of the French Art Song by Timothy LeVanContains the complete song texts of the songs for voice and piano by Chausson, Debussy, Duparc, Faure, and Ravel. All are in an easy-to-read three-line format; Line 1: the original language text; Line 2: a vertically accurate word-by-word translation into English, using the exact word order of the original language; Line 3: a poetic reconstruction of Line 2 into a more poetically understandable English form. This gives the user an exact, accurate knowledge of each word as it is understood by a native language singer.
Call Number: ML 54.6 .M33 1991 (Reference collection)
Publication Date: 1991-12-01
Masters of the Italian Art Song by Timothy LeVanThis volume contains the complete song texts of the songs for voice and piano of Bellini, Donaudy, Donizetti, Puccini, Rossini, Tosti, and Verdi, with word-by-word and poetic translations. All these song texts are in an easy-to-read three-line format, giving the user an exact, accurate knowledge of each word as it is understood by a native-language singer.
Call Number: ML 54.6 .M34 1990 (Reference collection)
Call Number: ML 128 .S3 H85 2010 (Reference collection)
Publication Date: 2009-11-17
A Singer's Guide to the American Art Song by Victoria E. Villamil; Thomas Hampson (Foreword by)Probably the most comprehensive work on the American art song ever available, this book considers the lives and contributions of 144 significant composers in the field, including many for whom information has been extremely scarce. Most composers' entries consist of a biographical sketch; a brief discussion of his or her song writing characteristics (with emphasis on performers' concerns); a partial or complete listing of annotated songs; recording information; and the composer's individual bibliography.
Call Number: ML 128 .S3 V5 1993 (Reference collection)
German Lieder in the Nineteenth Century by Rufus Hallmark (Editor)Beginning with its origin in the literary and musical culture of Germany in the nineteenth-century, the book covers individual composers, including Shubert, Schumann, Brahms, Strauss, Mahler and Wolf, the literary sources of lieder, the historical and conceptual issues of song cycles, and issues of musical technique and style in performance practice.