Subject Guides: Theatre & Media Design: Sound

Finding Books and E-Books

Sound Effects by Laura Jayne Wright This book shows that the sounds of the early modern stage do not only signify but are also significant. Sounds are weighted with meaning, offering a complex system of allusions. Playwrights such as Jonson and Shakespeare developed increasingly experimental soundscapes, from the storms of King Lear (1605) and Pericles (1607) to the explosive laboratory of The Alchemist (1610). Yet, sound is dependent on the subjectivity of listeners; this book is conscious of the complex relationship between sound as made and sound as heard. Sound effects should not resound from scene to scene without examination, any more than a pun can be reshaped in dialogue without acknowledgement of its shifting connotations. This book listens to sound as a rhetorical device, able to penetrate the ears and persuade the mind, to influence and to affect.
Call Number: In process - place hold!
ISBN: 9781526159182
Publication Date: 2023-06-27
Immersive Sound Production by Dennis Baxter Immersive Sound Production is a handbook for the successful implementation of immersive sound for live sports and entertainment. This book presents thorough explanations of production practices and possibilities and takes the reader through the essentials of immersive sound capture and creation with real world examples of microphones, mixing and mastering practices. Additionally, this book examines the technology that makes immersive sound possible for the audio mixer, sound designer and content producer to craft a compelling soundscape. This book serves as a guide for all audio professionals, from aspiring audio mixers to sound designers and content producers, as well as students in the areas of sound engineering, TV and broadcast and film.
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9781003052876
Publication Date: 2022-06-27
Mixing a Musical by Shannon Slaton Mixing a Musical: Broadway Theatrical Sound Techniques, Second Edition pulls the curtain back on one of the least understood careers in live theatre: the role and responsibilities of the sound technician. This comprehensive book encompasses every position from shop crew labor to assistant designer to sound board operator and everything in between. Written in a clear and easy to read style, and illustrated with real-world examples of personal experience and professional interviews, Slaton shows you how to mix live theatre shows from the basics of equipment and set ups, using sound levels to creating atmosphere, emotion and tension to ensure a first rate performance every time. This new edition gives special attention to mixing techniques and practices. And, special features of the book include interviews with some of today's most successful mixers and designers.
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9781351033046
Publication Date: 2018-07-04
QLab 4 by Jeromy Hopgood Used from Broadway to Britain's West End, QLab software is the tool of choice for many of the world's most prominent sound, projection, and integrated media designers.　QLab 4: Projects in Video, Audio, and Lighting Control is a project-based book on QLab software covering sound, video, lighting, and show control. With information on audio, video, and lighting system basics and the more advanced functions of QLab such as show control, network capabilities, projection mapping, video effects, and cue cart integration, each chapter's specific projects will allow you to learn the software's capabilities at your own pace. In addition to the text, a companion website hosts project files, instructional videos, and more.
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9781351713719
Publication Date: 2017-10-30

Try browsing Subject Headings alphabetically or by keyword search.

Examples of subject searches:

s= Sounds

s= Theaters Sound Effects

s= Production Music

s= Animal sounds

s= Ambient sounds

s= Nature sounds

Sound & Music Sources

At the Music and Dance Desk on Level 4:

MLL CD M 2.5 .M32 O53 1994 vols. 1-3 (100 Spectacular Sound Effects)

MLL CD M 5 .S678 1994 (Sounds of Nature and the Great Outdoors)

freesound
A commons initiative = FREE.
AudioMicro - Stock Audio Library
Associated costs.
Western Soundscape Archive
Audio recordings of animals and environments.
Audio Search for HBLL Collection
Search for "Sound Effects" in Library Audio Search
Find audio recordings of a variety of sound effects.
National Jukebox - Library of Congress The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives. The National Jukebox debuts featuring more than 10,000 78rpm disc sides issued by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1900 and 1925.

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Prohibited from downloading, copying, burning, capturing, re-transmitting, recording or reproducing the Service by any means or in any form.

Get Help

Humanities Reference
Level 5
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm

801.422.4006
humref@byu.edu

BYU Film Music Archives

BYU Film Music Archives, part of L. Tom Perry Special Collections, contains materials that BYU began collecting more than two decades ago. First acquired were the files and recordings of Republic Pictures and Max Steiner, acknowledged founder of modern film music, whose collection documents his more than 300 scores.