Skip to Main Content
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR focuses on humanities, social science, and more recently, science titles which have proven themselves vital to these disciplines and which have many years of publication, in some cases going back to the 19th century. Also searches ARTstor.
Linguistics/Language Behavior Abstracts -- LLBA (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
1973+ Indexes and abstracts articles from 2,000 U.S. and foreign periodicals in language use, linguistics, and related disciplines. Updated twice a year.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
Oxford Bibliographies: Linguistics This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies in Linguistics is organized around discrete linguistic subject entries, combining expert commentary with resource listings. OBO also provides direct links to holdings in the BYU online catalog and other online repositories.
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
1967+ ERIC, the U.S. Department of Education Resource Information Center databases, contains indexing and abstracts from thousands of research and technical reports in the Resources In Education Index (RIE) and from more than 750 education and education-related journals in the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). In addition, selected full text articles are available for thousands of ERIC digest records. Updated quarterly.
Foreign Language Annals
Foreign Language Annals (FLA) is the official refereed, scholarly journal of the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL). Dedicated to the advancement of language teaching and learning, the journal seeks to serve the professional interests of classroom instructors, researchers, and administrators who are concerned with the learning and teaching of languages, particularly languages other than English at all levels of instruction.
Published continuously since 1967, the journal welcomes submissions that:
• propose emerging theoretical frameworks,
• report empirical research,
• evaluate the impact of innovative standards/proficiency-based program models, curriculum designs, instructional approaches, and assessment practices,
• advance our understanding of relevant issues in second language learning and teaching, and
• address interdisciplinary language-related topics.
All submissions must provide clear implications for teaching, learning, and/or research in the language field, be written in standard professional English, adhere to the journal’s author guidelines, and be previously unpublished. There are approximately 12 articles in each of the four issues that are published each year.
Hispania, the official journal of the American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese (AATSP), invites the submission of original, unpublished manuscripts on applied linguistics, cultural studies, culture, film, language, linguistics, literary criticism, literature, and pedagogy having to do with Spanish and Portuguese. Throughout Hispania's history since its founding in 1917, it has published scholarly articles and reviews that are judged to be of interest to specialists in the discipline(s) as well as to a diverse readership of teachers of Spanish and Portuguese.
International Journal of Bilingualism
The International Journal of Bilingualism (IJB) is an international, peer-reviewed, forum for the dissemination of original research on the linguistic, psychological, neurological, and social issues which emerge from language contact. While stressing interdisciplinary links, the focus of the Journal is on the language behavior of the bi- and multilingual individual. This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
International Review of Applied Linguistics in Language Teaching
International Review of Applied Linguistics in Language Teaching (IRAL) is devoted to problems of general and applied linguistics in their various forms. IRAL's long-term interest lies in areas of research which concern first- and second-language acquisition (including sign language and gestural systems). Contributions are welcome on naturalistic and instructed language learning, language loss, bilingualism, language contact, pidgins and creoles, language for specific purposes, language technology, mother-tongue education, terminology and translation. The journal also features occasional thematic issues.
The Interpreter and Translator Trainer
The Interpreter and Translator Trainer is a peer-reviewed international journal dedicated to research in the education and training of professional translators and interpreters, and of those working in other forms of interlingual and intercultural mediation and communication.
Language, a journal of the Linguistic Society of America, is published quarterly and contains articles, short reports, and book reviews on all aspects of linguistics, focusing on the area of theoretical linguistics. As of 2013, Language features online content in addition to the print edition, including supplemental materials and articles presented in five new sections: Teaching Linguistics; Historical Syntax; Phonological Analysis; Public Policy; and Perspectives. Language has been the primary literary vehicle for the Society since 1924.
Language Learning is a scientific journal dedicated to the understanding of language learning broadly defined. It publishes research articles that systematically apply methods of inquiry from disciplines including psychology, linguistics, cognitive science, educational inquiry, neuroscience, ethnography, sociolinguistics, sociology, and anthropology. It is concerned with fundamental theoretical issues in language learning such as child, second, and foreign language acquisition, language education, bilingualism, literacy, language representation in mind and brain, culture, cognition, pragmatics, and intergroup relations. A subscription includes an annual supplement - a volume from the Currents in Language Learning Series or the Language Learning Special Issue Series- as well as a biennial monograph- the Language Learning Cognitive Neuroscience Series.
Linguistic Approaches to Bilingualism
LAB is an international peer-reviewed journal which provides an outlet for cutting-edge studies on bilingualism. LAB assumes a broad definition of bilingualism, including work on: adult L2 acquisition/processing, simultaneous child bilingualism, child L2 acquisition/processing, adult and child heritage language bilingualism, L1 attrition in L2/Ln environments, and adult/child L3/Ln acquisition/processing. LAB publishes original research assuming any cognitive science approach to the understanding of bilingual language acquisition and processing and the effects bilingualism has on cognition and the brain. LAB publishes its articles Online First.
The Modern Language Journal
The editorial mission of The Modern Language Journal is to publish “research and discussion about the learning and teaching of foreign and second languages.” The MLJ is an international refereed journal that is dedicated to promoting scholarly exchange among researchers and teachers of all modern foreign languages and English as a second language. The journal is particularly committed to publishing high quality work in non-English languages. Its publication focus is further defined by linking the findings of research to teaching and learning in a variety of settings and on all educational levels.
Portuguese Language Journal
The Portuguese Language Journal (PLJ) was founded in 2006 to promote and improve the teaching of Portuguese as a world language. PLJ also aims to provide a venue to encourage collaboration, research, and exchange of ideas among Portuguese language instructors.
Studies in Hispanic and Lusophone Linguistics
Studies in Hispanic and Lusophone Linguistics deals primarily with the linguistic analysis of Hispanic and/or Lusophone languages, which is interpreted broadly so as to include not only Spanish and Portuguese, but also Catalan, Galician, Spanish- and Portuguese-based creoles, and other such areas of investigation. While research articles comprise the majority of the contents, the journal also features book reviews, “State of the Discipline” articles on the current status and recent developments of work in specific subareas of Hispanic and Lusophone linguistics, and “Viewpoints” sections in which multiple short position papers present differing views on a particular issue of interest within Hispanic and Lusophone linguistics.
Studies in Second Language Acquisition
Studies in Second Language Acquisition is a refereed journal of international scope devoted to the scientific discussion of acquisition or use of non-native and heritage languages. Each volume (four issues) contains research articles of either a quantitative or qualitative nature in addition to essays on current theoretical matters. Other rubrics include shorter articles such as Replication Studies, Critical Commentaries, and Research Reports.
Target. International Journal of Translation Studies
arget promotes the scholarly study of translational phenomena from any part of the world and welcomes submissions of an interdisciplinary nature. The journal’s focus is on research on the theory, history, culture and sociology of translation and on the description and pedagogy that underpin and interact with these foci. We welcome contributions with a theoretical, empirical, or applied focus. We especially welcome papers on topics at the cutting edge of the discipline, as well as shorter positioning statements which may encourage discussion by contributors to the “Forum” section of the journal. The purpose of the review section is to introduce and discuss the most important publications in the field and to reflect its evolution.