Subject Guides: Spanish & Portuguese Linguistics: Reference & Background

Reference Books

General

Hualde, José Ignacio; Olarrea, Antxon; Escobar, Anna María; & Travis, Catherine. Introducción a la lingüística hispánica. Cambridge; Cambridge University Press, 2010.

O’Grady, William; Dobrovolsky, Michael; & Aronoff, Mark. Contemporary Linguistics: An Introduction (4th ed.). New York: St. Martin’s Press, 2001.

Romance Philology

Elcock, W.D.. The Romance Languages (rev. ed.). London: Faber & Faber, 1975. PC 43 .E55 1975

Sociolinguistics

Díaz-Campos, Manuel (ed.). The Handbook of Hispanic Sociolinguistics. Oxford: Wiley- Blackwell, 2011. PC 4074.75 H36 2011

Lipski, John M. Varieties of Spanish in the United States. Georgetown: Georgetown University Press, 2008. PC 4826 .L56 2008

López Morales, Humberto. Sociolingüística. Madrid: Gredos, 1989.

History of Spanish Language

Cano Aguilar, Rafael (coord.), Historia de la lengua española. Barcelona: Ariel, 2004. PC 4075 .H57x 2004

Lapesa, Rafael. Historia de la lengua española, 9ª ed. Madrid: Gredos, 1981. PC 4075 .L3 1981

Penny, Ralph. Gramática histórica del español. Barcelona: Ariel, 1993.

Dialectology

Alvar, Manuel. Manual de dialectología hispánica: El español de España. Barcelona: Ariel, 1996. PC 4711 .M36x 1996

Lipski, John M. El español de América. Madrid: Cátedra, 1996.

Morphosyntax

Radford, Andrew. English Syntax: An Introduction. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2004.

Zagona, Karen. The Syntax of Spanish. Cambridge: Cambridge, University Press, 2002. PC 4361 .Z34 2002

Applied Linguistics

Koike, Dale A. & Klee, Carol A. Lingüística aplicada: Adquisición del español como segunda lengua. New York: John Wiley, 2003. PC 4068 .U5 K65 2003

Whitley, M. Stanley. Spanish/English Contrasts: A Course in Spanish Linguistics (2nd ed.). Washington: Georgetown University Press, 2002.

Grammar

Butt, John & Benjamin, Carmen. A New Reference Grammar of Modern Spanish (5th ed.). Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2011.

Phonetics & Phonology

Gussenhoven, Carlos & Jacobs, Haike. Understanding Phonology(3rd edition). London: Routledge, 2011.

Hualde, José Ignacio. The Sounds of Spanish. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2005.

Quilis, Antonio. Tratado de fonología y fonética españolas (2nd edition). Madrid: Gredos, 1999.

Reference Databases

Oxford Handbooks - Linguistics This link opens in a new window Original, peer reviewed, research reviews covering the key issues and exploring major debates in linguistics.

Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics This Wiley reference work brings together historic and emerging areas of research within applied linguistics. It includes over 1,100 entries written by an international team of scholars from over 40 countries.

Linguistics Encyclopedia, 2nd ed. This link opens in a new window The second edition of this linguistic encyclopedia can be searched by keyword or browsed alphabetically for articles. An extensive bibliography is included. Viewing requires download of the ebrary reader.