Subject Guides: Music 286: Introduction to the Music Business: Article Databases

Recommended Indexes

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window RILM covers all types of publications on music, in all media: books, journals, online resources, research-based sound recordings and films, dissertations, and more. Coverage begins with publications from 1967 and continues through the present.
Music Periodicals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window IIMP is a music journal resource with more than 770,000 indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to the present, covering the scholarly to the popular.
Music Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Music Index is a comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present. Formerly The Music Index Online provided by Harmonie Park Press, this database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals. The comprehensive coverage of the music field and every aspect of the classical and popular worlds of music makes Music Index an invaluable resource for both novice and scholar.
RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals Online Archive with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window RIPM was established to provide access to eighteenth-, nineteenth- and twentieth-century periodical literature dealing with music. After many years of preparation for the immense task of digitizing and placing online in the vast majority of journals that RIPM has indexed, after much hard labor and with the collaboration of many, the RIPM Online Archive of Music Periodicals (Full-Text) was released in May 2009.

Other Useful Indexes

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Academic Search™ Premier contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. About 30 of these are academic music journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI): Web of Science This link opens in a new window Arts & Humanities Citation Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.
Audio Engineering Society Electronic Library This link opens in a new window You can search the E-Library to find content from Convention and Conference Papers and the peer-reviewed Journal of the AES.

Bibliographie des Musikschrifttums The Bibliographie des Musikschrifttums online (Bibliography of Music Literature on-line) is an international and interactive bibliography of literature on music. Currently, BMS online has more than 300,000 records of literature on music, provides bibliographic data from 1950 to the present.
more...less...
BMS includes monographs, articles and reviews from journals, Festschriften, congress proceedings, yearbooks, anthologies and essays from critical reports. Main sources for the BMS editorial staff are national bibliographies, journals, monographs and subject bibliographies. Furthermore, contributions from journals with an interdiscplinary view on music are considered for inclusion. Per annum we check some 600 sources and add approximately 10,000 titles.
BYU Library List of News Resources An expansive list of links to major local, national, international, and historical news resources available.
more...less...
Includes:

* Factiva
* IPL Online Newspapers
* Keesing's World News Archive
* LexisNexis Academic -- News
* Los Angeles Times (ProQuest)
* Newslink
* Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
* Newspapers (ProQuest)
* Wall Street Journal (1889 to present)
* World News Connection
* Daily Herald
* Deseret News
* Salt Lake Tribune
* Utah Digital Newspapers
* CRL's Foreign Newspapers Database
* EFE English Language Service (ELS)
* EFE World News Service (Spanish language)
* 19th Century U.S. Newspaper Digital Archive (Gale)
* American Periodical Series Online 1741-1900 (ProQuest - Full text)
* Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1986)
* Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 1994)
* CRL's CCC Camp Newspapers Database
* Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)
* New York Times Archive (1851-2004)
* Times (London) Digital Archive (1785-1985) (Gale)
* CRL's U.S. Ethnic Newspapers Database
* Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
Canadian Music Periodical Index CMPI is an index of articles from Canadian music periodicals. CMPI is a free service provided by the Library and Archives Canada. Texts of articles are not available from this site, but can be obtained through interlibrary loan at your local library. The CMPI database includes over 37 000 entries on articles dating from the late-19th century to the present day. 630 Canadian music journals, newsletters and magazines are represented here, almost 200 of which are currently active and conti

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window ERIC - the Education Resources Information Center - is an online digital library of education research and information. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.
Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window As the most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Source provides full text—plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing—for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. Full text for more than 1,450 journals, high-quality indexing and in-depth abstracts for thousands of journals, and indexing for hundreds of thousands of articles.
Performing Arts Periodicals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window IIPA is a performing arts journal resource with over 465,000 indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1864 to the present, covering film, theatre, and dance. 97 Journals presented in full text format. IIPA provides indexing and abstracts for more than 240 international periodicals. IIPA covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR has created a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive of scholarship, is actively preserving over one thousand academic journals in both digital and print formats, inlcuding 83 music journals. With participation and support from the international scholarly community, JSTOR has created a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive of scholarship, is actively preserving over one thousand academic journals in both digital and print formats, and continues to greatly expand access to scholarly works and other materials needed for research and teaching globally.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Project MUSE offers full text, affordable access to current content from prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. MUSE is the most reliable source of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, journals with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields.
WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window

Early Articles

In addition to RIPM, some early articles are indexed in:

Readers' Guide Retrospective (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window 1890-1982. Indexes the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. Subjects covered include archaeology, astronomy, biographies, business, education, environment, fine arts, foreign affairs, history, journalism, literature, medicine, news, popular culture, religion, science, and travel.

Get Help

Music & Dance Help Desk
4432 HBLL - Level 4
Music & Dance Web Page
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm

Phone: 801.422.1725
E-mail: music_reference@byu.edu