Subject Guides: Digital Scholarship: Digital Storage &amp; Curation

Locate Repositories for Storage of Digital Items

The following links provide access to some repositories where collections of digital works are stored.

BYU ScholarsArchive ScholarsArchive is Brigham Young University’s institutional repository for the scholarly and creative content produced by BYU faculty and students.
BYU Image Collections These image collections are part of BYU’s Institutional Repository.
ScholarsArchive Data Collection ScholarsArchive Data is a place to store files related to your research.
ScholarsArchive help Learn about how to use ScholarsArchive, BYU's Institutional Repository.
BYU Library Digital Collections Scanned images of books, documents, photographs, and other materials, primarily from Special Collections, as well as research published by BYU faculty and students.
Other Repositories for Long-term Data Storage This guide includes links to broad and discipline-specific repositories. It also provides links to registries of repositories.

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window The Hathi Trust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations. Check the Full view only box when searching to limit your results to freely accessible materials.

Choose Sustainable Formats for Storage

Proper data preservation practices ensure that digital data is readable well into the future.

Library of Congress Sustainability of Digital Formats Learn how to choose sustainable formats for digital information. Includes several sustainability factors to consider.
Library of Congress Preferred Data Formats The Library of Congress has provided guidance regarding formats for archival storage.

Manage Data & Create Data Management Plans

Proper data management practices are essential for ensuring that collected data is preserved, protected, accessible, and useful to researchers in the future. Some research contracts require the establishment of a Data Management Plan (DMP).

Data Management Seminar Series The library provides regular training for graduate students and others who are interested in learning best practices for managing data.
DMPTool This is a handy template that will guide you through the process of creating a data management plan.
Federal Agency Data Sharing Requirements This resource contains information for US Federal Funding Agencies and provides current policy language, and in some cases, proposed future changes to the policy. Users can toggle between data sharing requirements and article sharing policies.
BYU Research Development This links to BYU's Office of Research Development's site, including resources for building data management plans

Key

L (Library Supported): This resource is provided by the library. Reach out to your subject librarian for support.

C (Campus Supported): This resource is provided by another entity on campus other than the library (e.g., IT). Please reach out to them for support.

(Third Party Supported): This resource is not specifically supported by the library or broader campus. However, your subject librarian may still be able to offer help.

$ (User Pays for Resource): In order to use this resource, you will need to pay a one-time or subscription-based fee.