Subject Guides: Digital Scholarship: Digital Data Gathering &amp; Analysis

Find Data

Most disciplines have well known repositories where researchers upload and share their data. This practice promotes open science and allows others to potentially reused data for new or collaborative efforts.

Repositories Guide This guide highlights general and discipline-specific data repositories.
ScholarsArchive From ScholarsArchive homepage: "ScholarsArchive is Brigham Young University’s institutional repository for the scholarly and creative content produced by the University. ScholarsArchive makes research, publications, data, and journals produced by BYU faculty and students available to a global research audience."
Data Planet (free for BYU students and employees) From Data Planet homepage: "The largest repository of standardized and structured statistical data"
GIS - Services and Training Get expert assistance with geospatial data collection, analysis, and visualization. Learn how to use GIS software.
Data.gov (Open Data) From Data.gov homepage: "The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more."
Internet Archive (Open Data) From Internet Archive homepage: "Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more." Its WayBack Machine allows archiving and retrieval of Internet web pages.
Digital Humanities Resources Many humanities scholars are using digitized books to conduct text mining projects. This library guide lists several resources that provide access to digitized books.
Text Mining with R (Open Book) From the preface of the book: "This book serves as an introduction of text mining using the tidytext package and other tidy tools in R. The functions provided by the tidytext package are relatively simple; what is important are the possible applications. Thus, this book provides compelling examples of real text mining problems."
Hathi Trust (Open Books) From HathiTrust's homepage: "HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world."
more...less...
Log in to gain greater access to resources and features. Just find BYU in the list of partner institutions and enter your netID and password.

Prepare, Clean, & Annotate Data

Before most data is ready for analysis, a certain amount of preprocessing is necessary. The following tools help with various preprocessing steps. Several specifically help create annotations during text mining research.

OpenRefine (Open Source Software) From OpenRefine's home page: "OpenRefine (previously Google Refine) is a powerful tool for working with messy data: cleaning it; transforming it from one format into another; and extending it with web services and external data."
- This link opens in a new window
BYU Library Workshops: OpenRefine & Regular Expressions The library's Scholarly Communications Committee periodically offers workshops. Two of these workshops—OpenRefine and Regular Expressions—review various ways to organize and clean up data sets.
- This link opens in a new window
brat (Open Source Software) brat is an online environment for collaborative text annotation.
docanno (Open Source Software) From docanno's GitHub page: "doccano is an open source text annotation tool for humans. It provides annotation features for text classification, sequence labeling and sequence to sequence tasks. So, you can create labeled data for sentiment analysis, named entity recognition, text summarization and so on. Just create a project, upload data and start annotating."
INCEpTION (Open Source Software) The annotation of specific semantic phenomena often require compiling task-specific corpora and creating or extending task-specific knowledge bases. Presently, researchers require a broad range of skills and tools to address such semantic annotation tasks. INCEpTION is a platform that incorporates all the related tasks into a joint web-based platform.

Analyze Data

Data analysis tools can help derive meaning from your data. The tools listed below help analyze quantitative, qualitative, and/or corpora data.

NVIVO (Fee-Based) From NVIVO's home page: "Vivo helps you discover more from your qualitative and mixed methods data. Uncover richer insights and produce clearly articulated, defensible findings backed by rigorous evidence."
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
R (Open Source Software) From R's About Page: "R provides a wide variety of statistical (linear and nonlinear modelling, classical statistical tests, time-series analysis, classification, clustering, …) and graphical techniques, and is highly extensible. The S language is often the vehicle of choice for research in statistical methodology, and R provides an Open Source route to participation in that activity."
- This link opens in a new window
MATLAB (free for BYU students and employees) From BYU"s software page, "The MATLAB platform is optimized for solving engineering and scientific problems. The matrix-based MATLAB language is the world’s most natural way to express computational mathematics. Built-in graphics make it easy to visualize and gain insights from data. A vast library of prebuilt toolboxes lets you get started right away with algorithms essential to your domain. The desktop environment invites experimentation, exploration, and discovery."
- This link opens in a new window
SAS (free for BYU students & employees) SAS is an integrated software suite for advanced analytics, business intelligence, data management, and predictive analytics. You can use SAS software through both a graphical interface and the SAS programming language, or Base SAS.
- This link opens in a new window
SPSS Amos (free for BYU students and employees) IBM SPSS Amos enables you to specify, estimate, assess and present models to show hypothesized relationships among variables. The software lets you build structural equation models more accurately than with standard multivariate statistics techniques. Users can choose either the graphical user interface or non-graphical, programmatic interface. This product is only authorized for academic and research purposes. It should not be used for BYU administrative functions.
- This link opens in a new window
SPSS Statistics (free for BYU students & employees)) IBM's Statistical Package for Social Sciences provides tools for carrying out statistical analyses on datasets, and visualizing results. BYU student and employee packages are available for free through software.byu.edu.
- This link opens in a new window
SPSS Tutorials (BYU FHSS Research Support Center) College of Family, Home, & Social Sciences SPSS help page
- This link opens in a new window
MALLET (Open Source Software) From the MALLET home page: "MALLET is a Java-based package for statistical natural language processing, document classification, clustering, topic modeling, information extraction, and other machine learning applications to text."
- This link opens in a new window
Voyant Tools (Open Source Software) Voyant Tools is a web-based reading and analysis environment for digital texts.
- This link opens in a new window

Visualize Data

Data visualization tools can help you more easily detect important patterns in data and clearly communicate the message of the data to others.

A. General Purpose Tools

Many tools noted above for preparing and analyzing data have visualizing capabilities as well.

Tableau (free for students and faculty) Tableau is a business intelligence tool that enables you to connect to your data in order to help you spot anomalies, outliers, and trends. It allows you to create beautiful and visually appealing reports, charts, graphs and dashboards. These insights can easily be shared with others by deploying your work to Tableau Server.
Excel (fee-based, but on most computers) Microsoft Excel is a general purpose spreadsheet software that includes tools for graphing data as well as conducting what-if scenarios and pivot tables
Google Sheets (Open Software) Spreadsheet for personal use, including collaborative work.
SAS JMP (free for BYU students and employees) From BYU Software, "With SAS JMP, you can construct graphs interactively as you explore your continuous and categorical data, discover consumer preferences so you can tailor the features of products and services to consumer desires, analyze lifetime events for accelerated test data, find the most suitable distributional model for your time-to-event data and make predictions, and explore failure causes in a system and understand the effects of repair."
- This link opens in a new window

B. Network Graphing Tools

Science of Science Tool (Open Software, Indiana University) The Science of Science (Sci2) Tool is a modular toolset specifically designed for the study of science. It supports the temporal, geospatial, topical, and network analysis and visualization of scholarly datasets at the micro (individual), meso (local), and macro (global) levels.
CiteSpace (Open Software - Drexel University) CiteSpace visualizes patterns and trends in scientific literature
CytoScape (Open Source Software - National Resource for Network Biology) Cytoscape is an open source software platform for visualizing complex networks and integrating these with any type of attribute data. A lot of Apps are available for various kinds of problem domains, including bioinformatics, social network analysis, and semantic web.
NodeXL (free basic version - Social Media Research Foundation NodeXL Basic and NodeXL Pro are add-ins for Microsoft® Excel® (2010, 2013, 2016, 365) that support social network and content analysis. NodeXL Basic is available freely and openly to all. It is positioned as a browser for files created with NodeXL Pro which offers advanced features for professional social network and content analysis.
NetDraw (Open Software) NetDraw is a Windows program for visualizing social network data.

C. GIS (Geographic Information Systems help capture, analyze, and visualize data in the context of its surrounding geography)

Geospatial Services & Training Get expert assistance with geospatial data collection, analysis, and visualization. Learn how to use GIS software.
GPS Units, Compasses, Maps, & Tools Find various tools used in GIS projects.
Computers with GIS Software Find computers in the library that can access GIS software.

Key

L (Library Supported): This resource is provided by the library. Reach out to your subject librarian for support.

C (Campus Supported): This resource is provided by another entity on campus other than the library (e.g., IT). Please reach out to them for support.

(Third Party Supported): This resource is not specifically supported by the library or broader campus. However, your subject librarian may still be able to offer help.

$ (User Pays for Resource): In order to use this resource, you will need to pay a one-time or subscription-based fee.