The USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference (SR) is the major source of food composition data in the United States. It provides the foundation for most food composition databases in the public and private sectors. As information is updated, new versions of the database are released. This version contains data on 8,463 food items and up to 150 food components.
The Merck Index is an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals that contains more than 10,000 monographs. Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds.
ELS is a comprehensive encyclopedia of all subjects in the life sciences. Each article is written by experts in the discipline of the biological subjects. About 20% of the articles are updated each year.
US, European and World wide collections searchable in full text of the entire specifications, with links to global patent families. Single inventions may have dozens, hundreds or even thousands of related patent documents in up to 80 different jurisdictions. See and explore these relationships.
The "Codex General Standard for Food Additives" (GSFA, Codex STAN 192-1995) sets forth the conditions under which permitted food additives may be used in all foods, whether or not they have previously been standardized by Codex. The Preamble of the GSFA contains additional information for interpreting the data. Users are encouraged to consult the Preamble when using this database.
The International Pharmacopoeia (Ph. Int.) constitutes a collection of recommended procedures for analysis and specifications for the determination of pharmaceutical substances, excipients, and dosage forms that is intended to serve as source material for reference or adaptation by any WHO Member State wishing to establish pharmaceutical requirements. The pharmacopoeia, or any part of it, shall have legal status, whenever a national or regional authority expressly introduces it into appropriate legislation.The history of The International Pharmacopoeia dates back to 1874 when the need to standardize terminology and to specify dosages and composition of drugs led to attempts to produce an international pharmacopoeial compendium.
Web access to the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. Searchable by keyword, property, and compound. A number of the tables may be sorted and rearranged to create customized tables.
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is a definitive, interactive source of new and classic research techniques. The database is fully searchable by keyword and subject, and it has many novel features,such as discussion forums and personal folders made possible by online publication. Its coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. Protocols are presented step-by-step and edited in the style that has made Molecular Cloning, Antibodies, Cells and many other CSH manuals essential to the work of scientists worldwide. Protocols will be continuously expanded, updated, and annotated by the originators and users of the techniques.
TERC contains over 100 practice tests and courses to help students prepare for educational tests including the GRE, GMAT, LSAT, MCAT, MAT, NCLEX, and PRAXIS. Information about graduate schools and careers is also included.
To access, create an account with your @byu.edu email address. Since the 1920s, the global fats and oils industry has relied on the analytical standards of the Official Methods and Recommended Practices of the AOCS (AOCS Methods) for processing, trading, utilizing, and evaluating fats, oils, and lipid products. Worldwide acceptance has made the AOCS Methods a requirement wherever fats and oils are analyzed, they contain the methodology required for proficiency testing in the Laboratory Proficiency Program (LPP), as well as AOCS Laboratory Certification. Additionally, AOCS methods are internationally recognized for trade, and several are listed by the Codex Alimentarius Commission.
No systematic downloading. May not provide access to database or materials to any third party. May not modify, alter, or create derivative works of the materials. For scholarly, noncommercial use only.
The most respected, referred to, and relied upon source in the field of grain science and technology containing standardized methods of analysis among cereal laboratories.
United States Government Printing Office (GPO)United States Government Printing Office (source for searchable CFR, Federal Register, US Code. Use this site to search Title 9 CFR (USDA enforced))
Founded in 1939, the Institute of Food Technologists (IFT) is a nonprofit professional academic society with more than 18,000 members working in food science, technology and related professions in academia, industry and government.
Institute of Food Technologists (IFT) Home pageFounded in 1939, the Institute of Food Technologists (IFT) is a nonprofit professional academic society with more than 18,000 members working in food science, technology and related professions in academia, industry and government.
IFPRI - International Food Policy Research InstituteIFPRIs vision is a world free of hunger and malnutrition. The vision is based on the human right to adequate food and nutrition and recognition of the inherent dignity of all members of the human family. It is a world where every person has secure access to sufficient and safe food to sustain a healthy and productive life and where decisions related to food are made transparently and with the participation of consumers and producers. IFPRI's mission is to provide policy solutions that cut hunger and malnutrition. This mission flows from the CGIAR mission: "To achieve sustainable food security and reduce poverty in developing countries through scientific research and research-related activities in the fields of agriculture, livestock, forestry, fisheries, policy, and natural resources management."
Institute of Food Science and TechnologyHome page for the Institute of Food Science and Technology. An independent incorporated professional qualifying body for food scientists and technologists.
2002-present. JCR presents quantifiable statistical citation data that provides a systematic, objective way to evaluate the world's leading journals and their impact and influence in the global research community. Covers more than 7,000 of the world's most highly cited, peer-reviewed journals in approximately 200 disciplines. Includes Science Edition and Social Science Edition.
MEDLINE PlusThis website is created and maintained by the NLM (National Library of Medicine). The Health Topics option has a list of over 600 topics that provide a variety of types of information about the topic. The information is written by professional health experts. There are full text information, references, and links to additional websites on each topic. This information will provide excellent background information along with much specific information for the topics included. More topics are being added each month.
PubMed provides Web access to resources of the National Library of Medicine, the world's largest biomedical library. Includes access to MEDLINE, PREMEDLINE, and molecular biology databases from the Entrez retrieval system.
Supercourse is a repository of lectures on global health and prevention designed to improve the teaching of prevention. Supercourse has a network of over 64000 scientists in 174 countries who are sharing for free a library of 3623 lectures in 26 languages.
Ulrichsweb is the online version of Ulrich's Periodical Directory. It contains a quarter-million records (journals, newsletters, newspapers, etc.) that are published world-wide. Each record provides publishing information, price, state date, where it is indexed, email links, etc. Updated daily.
Get Reference Help
Chat requires JavaScript.
Chat is offline.
Sources of Clinical Information
UpToDateThis link opens in a new windowAn evidence-based, peer reviewed database of clinical information.
For educational use only.
Micromedex Healthcare SeriesThis link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive, clinical knowledge base that will prepare you for success in clinical practice.
Cochrane Library (Wiley)This link opens in a new windowSearch here to find systematic reviews that will give you reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care.
