Subject Guides: Free Business Resources: Financial Literacy

Basic Skills

Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
Provides training on managing money and making financial decisions at all stages of life. Includes resources for educators preparing financial literacy training. Also provides information on rules and policies.
Financial Literacy 101
Financial Literacy 101 is a service of Decision Partners. Since 2004, they helped students succeed through personalized financial education. They work in partnership with colleges, universities, and other student-serving organizations.
Investor.gov
Resources and tools for learning about and starting investing.
MyMoney.gov
Includes principles and tools to assist in financial planning and decisions through all stages of life.
Personal Finance by Annuity.org
This free, comprehensive web resource offers professional insight from experienced financial experts on a variety of financial topics to help you make smart decisions about your money.

Education & Planning Tools

Bankrate
Compare prices and rates and find recommendations for financial decisions like loans, credit cards, and savings.
Budgeting Worksheets
Interactive worksheets on budgeting, retirement planning, savings and other topics.
Calculators by CreditUnion.gov
Tools for determining financial decisions like tax withholding, debt payoff, and retirement.
Checklists
For help planning and managing finances in areas such as preparing for emergencies and planning for college.
Federal Reserve Education
Resources for teaching and developing financial literacy at all ages.
Money Smart
Interactive courses and games on from the FDIC on personal finance skills. Modules cover all ages and needs.

Utah Resources

Utah State Treasurer Financial Education
Resources for teaching financial literacy to youth and adults.
Utah Jump$tart Coalition
Provides resources and lesson plans to teach K-12 student financial literacy. Also includes material for financial literacy professional development.
Finance in the Classroom
This program encourages financial literacy education and provides resources for teachers, students, and parents. Student learning is promoted through fun, yet sound lessons resulting in student recognition through the Passport Program.
Deseret First Credit Union
Articles and interactive short courses teach you the basics of personal finance.

Research Trends

Consumer Credit Trends
Explore recent developments in consumer credit, like mortgages or credit cards.
Credit Card Agreements and Surveys
Explore types of credit card agreements along with information for better understanding terms and conditions.
Financial Well-Being Survey Data
Explore factors that contribute to financial well-being among individuals in the U.S.
Investopedia
Source for definitions and background on financial and economic terms and concepts.

Frequently Asked Questions

How can libraries help patrons become money smart?

Libraries provide financial literacy resources and programming related to personal finance and other money managing topics. for librarians looking for programming, ideas go to https://programminglibrarian.org/articles/programs-help-your-patrons-get-money-smart

What are some good resources for personal finance basics?

MyMoney.gov is a personal finance portal of the federal financial literacy and education commission. It includes information about earning, spending, borrowing, protecting saving, and investing money.

Consumer Financial Protection Bureau provides training on managing money and making financial decisions at all stages of life. Includes resources for educators preparing financial literacy training. Also provides information on rules and policies.

Personal Finance by Annuity.org This free, comprehensive web resource offers professional insight from experienced financial experts on a variety of financial topics to help you make smart decisions about your money.

Libraries also have books, handbooks and other resources available for check out.