Skip to main content

Native American Studies: Home

How to Use This Guide

This guide is to help students and other researchers of Native American and Indigenous studies. To help you start your research, this guide is divided into subject categories located in the tabs at the top of the page.

  • Native Americans and Indigenous Studies covers our library's resources on the general study of Native American and Indigenous peoples. 
  • Native Americans and the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints looks more specifically at the history of Indigenous peoples and their relationship with the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Native Americans and BYU covers Brigham Young University's unique collection of primary resources and our historic relation with Native peoples.
  • Native Languages includes resources for research dealing with Indigenous languages.

Terminology

Using the right terminology is important when writing about indigenous peoples. Most prefer to be known by their individual tribal affiliation when that information is available (e.g. Navajo, Sioux, etc.). For more general terms or if you have other terminology questions, reference these guides. 

Need More Help?

Contact a Librarian for more help:

Albert Winkler: American Studies; History, Utah; History (American, British, General)
(801) 422-6373
albert_winkler@byu.edu

Robert Means: American Literature; Comparative Literature; English; Folklore
(801) 422-6117
robert_means@byu.edu

Cory Nimer: Brigham Young University History; University Archives
(801) 422-6091
cory_nimer@byu.edu

Gerrit van Dyk: LDS History & Doctrine; Mormon History & Doctrine
(801) 422-4090
gerrit_vandyk@byu.edu

Connie Lamb: Anthropology; Museum Studies
(801) 422-6196
connie_lamb@byu.edu

Ryan Lee: Mormon, Western, & Utah Manuscripts - 19th Century
(801) 422-7774
ryan_lee@byu.edu

John Murphy: Mormon Americana; Mormon, Western, & Utah Manuscripts - 20th Century
(801) 422-6370
john_m_murphy@byu.edu