A personal research digital scan or photocopy of book and mauscript materials is $0.25 per page. Scans are 200 dpi pdf and will be sent through email.
For folders with more than 120 pages, a flat fee of $30.00 will be charged.
Physical copies can be picked up at the reference desk or mailed for a fee of $2.00 per 100 pages.
Fees must be made in advance and payment may be made with a credit card or Cougar Cash.
Direct descendant pricing is $0.10 per page.
High Resolution Reproduction
Turnaround time is 4-5 days. Large orders may take longer.
Format default is TIFF. JPEG is available. Items scanned at original size unless otherwise specified.
Higher resolution scans are available.
Digital Delivery Formats
Burn to CD (per disk)......$2.00
Inkjet Prints ...... Ask Reference Staff for prices
Audio/Visual Digitization Fees
Conversion to digital format (per item) ........... $10
Sales tax applied when applicable.
Rush fees may be applied.
L. Tom Perry Special Collections welcomes you to use materials in our collections that are in the public domain and to make fair use of copyrighted materials as defined by copyright law. Materials held by Special Collections may be protected by United States Copyright Law and/or by the copyright laws of other countries. Copyright law protects unpublished as well as published materials.
Special Collections does not claim to control the rights for reproduction for all materials or images in its collections. Certain images or materials may be protected by copyright, trademark, privacy, publicity rights, or other interests not owned by the Brigham Young University.
If Brigham Young University does not clearly hold the copyright to an item, Special Collections cannot grant or deny permission to use that material.
For permission to use materials copyrighted by Brigham Young University, contact the BYU Copyright Licensing Office.
In obtaining a reproduction from the L. Tom Perry Special Collections you assume all responsibility for determining whether any permissions relating to copyright, privacy, publicity, trademark, or any other rights are necessary for your intended use, and for obtaining all required permissions.
The Society of American Archivists provides further guidance about using copyrighted and unpublished materials. The U.S. Copyright Office provides information about How to Investigate the Copyright Status of a Work. When you cannot identify or locate the current copyright owner of a copyrighted work, the copyrighted material is sometimes called an “orphan work.” Columbia University Libraries and the Society of American Archivists also provide advice about documenting searches for copyright owners and using orphan work
When publishing photographs or images from L. Tom Perry Special Collections, please use the following credit line: Courtesy, L. Tom Perry Special Collections, Harold B. Lee Library, Brigham Young University.