Subject Guides: Theatre: Theatre Home

Streaming Theatre Productions

Broadway HD Content 2023

BroadwayHD (ASP) This link opens in a new window The library package includes 19 Broadway plays, including a few musicals.
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window Over 200 live full length productions –Digital Theatre Plus requires you to sign in using your BYU Net ID and Password.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window Complete digital library of the most studied and performed plays from the last 2,500 years. Contains scholarly notes, annotated texts, contextual information, synopsis, biographical entries, and material on acting, directing, and lighting. Features drama titles from the Methuen Drama, Arden Shakespeare lists, and the LA Theatre Works. Includes epics, monologues, and one-person plays in all time periods, as well as translations of major foreign works. Features play tools with character grids, words and speech graphs, and over 500 images.
OntheBoards.tv This link opens in a new window On the Boards provides access to a growing catalog of 45 full-length performance films by the world's leading contemporary artists. Featuring dance, theater and multi-disciplinary works.
National Theatre Collection (Drama Online) This link opens in a new window Video performances of live plays from National Theater Live broadcasts as well as recordings never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive. As a supplement to the filmed productions, exclusive digitized archival materials such as prompt scripts, costume designs, and more are available to provide behind-the-scenes background and contextual information.
Asian Theatre Video Collection This link opens in a new window Asian Theater video collection from Drama Online offers interviews with leading performers and practitioners, and houses a tranche of filmed performances, documentaries, rehearsal footage, and training videos. From Butoh to Bollywood, Bunraku to Topeng, this collection is a vital repository for students and academics interested in Asia’s rich theatrical traditions.
Theatre in Video (ASP) This link opens in a new window Theatre in Video contains more than 200 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 150 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 400 hours in all. Included are landmark performances such as The Iceman Cometh, Awake and Sing, Krapp's Last Tape, and several works of Shakespeare. Notable actors include Claire Bloom, Colleen Dewhurst, Richard Dreyfuss, Walter Matthau, Meryl Streep and more.
Ambrose Digital Video This link opens in a new window Streaming video including: The BBC Shakespeare Plays, The Great Directors: The Making of 21st Century Hollywood, A History of Great Playwrights, Hollywood's Greatest Directors, Shakespeare in Italy, and Shakespeare: The Animated Tales.
BYU Library Streaming Media This link opens in a new window Not available off campus.
Performance Design Archive (ASP) This link opens in a new window Performance Design Archive Online is the first comprehensive, international collection that covers all aspects of theater production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, and makeup. Bringing together essential books and periodicals, archival material, and specially commissioned instructional videos, the collection will cover design concepts for a broad range of performance types, including dance, theatre, opera, and music.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window Videos on theatre performance, behind the scenes, youth theatre plus more. 334 performing arts titles.
Public performance rights are included.

The Julie Andrews Archive An assortment of Julie's performances including Camelot on Broadway (1960) plus much more.
Working in the Theatre American Theatre Wing's Emmy® Nominated documentary series produced to entertain audiences by revealing theatre’s inner-workings, profiling industry luminaries, and taking a closer look at unique stories that surround important work.
Ubu Web UbuWeb is a large web-based educational resource for avant-garde material available on the internet, founded in 1996 by poet Kenneth Goldsmith. It offers visual, concrete and sound poetry, expanding to include film and sound art mp3 archives.