This is the "About" page of the "The Herman Melville Collection " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The Herman Melville Collection  

A Guide to the Herman Melville Collection at L. Tom Perry Special Collections
Last Updated: Feb 20, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.byu.edu/speccoll/melville Print Guide

About Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About Herman Melville

Herman Melville (1819–1891) was an American novelist, essayist, and poet. His early novels were popular during his lifetime, but his popularity waned as his career proceeded. His masterpiece, Moby-Dick, was considered a failure during his lifetime, but was “rediscovered” in the 20th century. Today, Melville is considered one of the foremost figures of American literature.

 

About the Herman Melville Collection

BYU’s Herman Melville Collection consists of primary and secondary works relating to the life and career of American author Herman Melville. The bulk of the Melville Collection was purchased from Tyrus Hillway, a Melville scholar formerly from the University of Colorado. BYU continues to actively collect works by and about Melville, including first and early editions of his novels, stories, and poetry, as well as published editions of his prose works and correspondence.

The Melville Collection contains an extensive array of secondary works about Melville, including biographies, criticism, and reference workson Melville and his writings. Topics of secondary literature (monographs and articles) include analysis of Melville’s travels, sources for his fiction, and his influence on other writers.  The collection also houses a growing array of adaptations, responses, and interpretations of Melville’s life, characters, and works.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Maggie Kopp
Contact Info
L. Tom Perry Special Collections
1130 HBLL
(801) 422-3514
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip