• First American Edition: Typee: a peep at Polynesian life, during a four months’ residence in a valley of the Marquesas.  The revised edition, with a sequel [The story of Toby]. New York: Wiley and Putnam; London: John Murray, 1846.  Wiley and Putnam’s library of American books, nos. 13-14.
• Call number: Vault Collection 813.363 T98 1846
• First British edition: Narrative of a four months’ residence among the natives of a valley of the Marquesas Islands, or, a peep at Polynesian life.  London: John Murray, 1846.

• Call number: Vault Collection 813.363 N166 1846

Omoo

• First British edition:  Omoo: a narrative of adventures in the South Seas: being a sequel of the “Residence in the Marguesas Islands.” London: John Murray, 1847.  Murray’s home and colonial library, no. 22.
• Call number: Vault Collection 813.363 Om6 1847
• First American edition: Omoo: a narrative of adventures in the South Seas: being a sequel of the “Residence in the Marguesas Islands.” New York: Harper & Brothers, Publishers; London: John Murray, 1847.

• Call number: Vault Collection 813.363 Om6 1847 no. 2

Redburn, his first voyage: being the sailor-boy confessions and reminiscences of the son-of-a-gentleman in the merchant service.  New York: Harper & Brothers, 1849. First American edition, second printing.

• Call number: Vault Collection 813.363 R24 1849

Mardi, and a voyage thither.  New York: Harper & Brothers, 1849. First American edition.

• Call number: Vault Collection 813.363 M33 1849 vol.1-2

White-jacket, or, The world in a man-of-war.  New York: Harper & Brothers; London: Richard Bentley, 1850. First edition, first printing.

• Call number: Vault Collection 813.363 W58 1850

Moby-Dick, or, The whale.  New York: Harper & Brothers; London: Richard Bentley, 1851.

• Call number: Vault Collection 813.363 M71 1851

Pierre, or, The ambiguities.  New York: Harper & Brothers, 1852.

• Call number: Vault Collection 813.363 P61 1852

Israel Potter, or, Fifty years of exile.  In: Putnam’s magazine, 1854. v.4, pp.66-75, 135-146, 277-290, 371-78, 481-491, 592-601; v.5, pp. 63-71, 176-182, 288-294.

• Call number:  Melville Collection AP 2 .P89x vol. 4-5

The Confidence-man: his masquerade.  New York: Dix, Edwards & Co., 1857.

• Call number: Vault Collection 813.363 C76 1857

STORIES

The Piazza tales.  New York: Dix & Edwards; London: Sampson Low, Son & Co., 1856.

• Collects: “The Piazza;” “Bartleby;” “Benito Cereno;” “The Lightning-rod man;” “The Encantadas; or, enchanted islands;” and “The Bell-tower.”  In this copy signature 14 is missing.
  • Call number: Vault Collection 813.364 P57 1856

Bartleby, the scrivener: a story of Wall-Street.  In: Putnam’s monthly magazine of American literature, 1853, vol. 2, no. 11, Nov.-Dec., pp. 546-557, 609-615.

• Call number: Melville Collection PS 2384 .B26 1853

The Encantadas, or, Enchanted Isles.  In: Putnam’s magazine, 1854. v.3, pp. 311-319, 345-355, 460-466.

• Call number: Melville Collection AP 2 .P89x v. 3

Benito Cereno.  In: Putnam’s magazine, 1855. v.6, pp. 353-367, 459-473, 633-644.

• Call number: Melville Collection AP 2 .P89x vol. 6

The Apple-tree table; or, Original spiritual manifestations.  In: Putnam’s magazine, 1856. v.7, pp. 465-475.

• Call number: Melville Collection AP 2 .P89x vol. 7

POETRY

Battle-pieces and aspects of the war.  New York: Harper & Brothers, 1866.

• Call number: Vault Collection 813.365 B32 1866

Clarel: a poem and pilgrimage in the Holy Land.  New York: G.P. Putnam’s Sons, 1876.

• Call number: Vault Collection 813.365 C541 1876 vol.1-2

Poems by Herman Melville (“Art,” “Monody,” “The Weaver,” and “Lamia’s song”).  In Century magazine, 1892. v.44, pp. 104-105.

• Call number: Melville Collection 051 C3 v.44