Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Herman Melville Collection : Prose and Correspondence

A Guide to the Herman Melville Collection at L. Tom Perry Special Collections

Featured Edition

Selected Resources: Melville's Prose

Authentic Anecdotes of Old Zack. Introduced by Kenneth Starosciak.  New Brighton, Minn.: K. Starosciak, 1973.

    Call number: Melville Collection PS 2381.5 .S8 1973

Traveling: a new lecture by Herman Melville. In New England Quarterly, n.d., pp. 25-28.

    Call number: Melville Collection 813.361 B53 no. 2

Collected prose pieces:  The Works of Herman Melville, vol. 13, edited by Raymond Weaver.  New York: Russell & Russell Inc., 1963.

    Call number: Melville Collection PS 2380 .F63 vol.13

Journals and Correspondence

Melville’s journals: Journals; texts revised with historical note and annotations by Howard C. Horsford, with Lynn Horth. The Northwestern-Newberry ed. Evanston: Northwestern University Press; Chicago: Newberry Library, 1993.

    Call number: Melville Collection PS 2380 .F68 vol.15

Family correspondence of Herman Melville, 1830-1904: in the Gansevoort-Lansing Collection.  Edited by Victor Hugo Paltsits.  New York: The New York Public Library, 1929.

    Call number: Melville Collection PS 2386 .A57 1929

Correspondence [edited and annotated, with historical note, by Lynn Horth...].  The Northwestern-Newberry ed.   Evanston: Northwestern University Press; Chicago: Newberry Library, 1993.

    Call number: Melville Collection PS 2380 .F68 vol.14

Curator

Profile Photo
Maggie Kopp
Contact:
1130 HBLL
(801) 422-6276

Visit Special Collections