These lists include monographs only, though the Melville Collection has many copies of individual essays and journal articles dealing with Melville and his works. These articles can be found through a search of the library catalog.

Arvin, Newton.  Herman Melville.  New York: W. Sloane, 1950.

Call number: Melville Collection PS 2386 .A7 1950

Bixby, William.  Rebel genius: the life of Herman Melville.  New York: David McKay Co., 1970.

Call number: Melville Collection PS 2386 .B5 1970

Delbanco, Andrew.  Melville: his world and work.  New York: Knopf, 2005.

Call number: Melville Collection PS 2386 .D44 2005

Heflin, Wilson.  Herman Melville’s whaling years.  Nashville, TN: Vanderbilt University Press, 2004.

Call number: Melville Collection PS 2386 .H38 2004

Mumford, Lewis.  Herman Melville.  New York: Harcourt, Brace & Co., 1929.

Call number: Melville Collection PS 2386 .M8 1929

Parker, Hershel.  Herman Melville: a biography.  Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 1996.

Call number: Melville Collection PS 2386 .P37 1996 vol.1-2

Bryant, John. A Companion to Melville studies. New York: Greenwood Press, 1986.

Call number: Melville Collection PS 2386 .C66 1986

Higgins, Brian. Herman Melville: the contemporary reviews. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1995.

Call number: PS 2387 .H434 1995

Levine, Robert S. The Cambridge companion to Herman Melville. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1998.

Call number: Melville Collection PS 2387 .C28 1998

Parker, Hershel. Melville: the making of the poet. Evanston: Northwestern University Press, 2008.

Call number: Melville Collection PS 2387 .P28 2008

Sanborn, Geoffrey, ed. Melville and aesthetics. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2011.

Call number: Melville Collection PS 2388 .A35 M45 2011