Chinese Art and Dynastic Time (2022)
The Cultural Monuments of Tibet (2014)
The Worlds of Classical Chinese Aesthetics (2024)
The Arts of China, 6th Edition by 
Ten Thousand Things: Module and Mass Production in Chinese Art by 
Art in China by 
China 5000 Years: Innovation and Transformation in the Arts by
Published to accompany an exhibition in New York City from February 1998, arising from collaboration between the Guggenheim Museum and China's Ministry of Culture, this is an exploration of the themes of innovation and transformation during the great eras of Chinese art, from the Neolithic period to the mid-19th century.
Asian Art by
Illuminates the rich history of Asian Art from ancient times to the present Asian Art provides students with an accessible introduction to the history of Asian Art. Students will gain an understanding of the emergence and evolution of Asian art in all its diversity. Using a range of analytical skills, readers will learn to recognize patterns of continuity and change between the arts and cultures of various regions comprising Asia. Images set within their broader cultural and religious backgrounds provides students with important contextual information to understand and decode artworks. MySearchLab is a part of the Neave / Blanchard / Sardar program. Research and writing tools, including access to academic journals, help students explore Asian Art in even greater depth. To provide students with flexibility, students can download the eText to a tablet using the free Pearson eText app. Note: This is the standalone book if you want the book/access card order the ISBN below: 020599685X / 9780205996858 History of Asian Art Plus MySearchLab with Pearson eText -- Access Card Package Package consists of: 0205239927 / 9780205239924 MySearchLab with Pearson eText -- Valuepack Access Card 0205837638 / 9780205837632 History of Asian Art
The Worlds of Classical Chinese Aesthetics by
"This book presents the foundations of classical Chinese aesthetic discourse--roughly from the Bronze Age to the early Middle Ages--with the following animating questions: What is art? Why do we produce it? How do we judge it? The arts that garnered the most theoretical attention during this time period were music, poetry, calligraphy, and painting, and the book considers the reasons why these four were privileged. Whereas modern artists most likely consider themselves musicians or poets or calligraphers or painters or sculptors or architects, the pre-modern authors who produced the literature that established Chinese aesthetics prided themselves on being wenren, "cultured people," conversant with all forms of art and learning. Other comparisons with Western theories and works of art are presented at due junctures. Key Features Addresses Chinese aesthetic discourse on its own terms Provides comparisons of key concepts and theories with examples from Western sources Includes more coverage of primary sources than any other English-language book on the subject Each chapter opens with a helpful summary, highlighting the chapter's key themes"--Provided by publisher.
A Companion to Chinese Art by 
A History of Art in 20th-Century China by
Lü Peng, China's foremost modern art historian, incisively analyzes developments in Chinese art from the late Qing Dynasty through to the opening years of the 21st century in this new revised edition of A History of Art in 20th-Century China , published for the first time simultaneously in French and English editions. The art that emerged over the course of a troubled century and more of Chinese history reveals a complex evolution with intrinsic connections to contemporary life. Lü Peng ably charts that evolution, not only in mainland China, Taiwan, and Hong Kong, but also in important centers such as Paris and Tokyo. This comprehensive narrative will remain for many years the reference to which those seeking knowledge of this history will inevitably turn.
Modern Chinese Artists by 
Contemporary Chinese Art by
Since the confirmation of Deng Xiaoping's policy of Opening and Reform in 1978, the People's Republic of China has undergone a liberalization of culture that has led to the production of numerous forms of avant-garde, experimental, and museum-based art. With a fast-growing international market and a thriving artistic community, contemporary Chinese art is riding a wave of prosperity, though issues of censorship still abound. Shedding light on the current art scene, Paul Gladston's Contemporary Chinese Art puts China's recent artistic output into the context of the wider cultural, economic, and political conditions that surround it. Providing a critical mapping of ideas and practices that have shaped the development of Chinese art, Gladston shows how these combine to bind it to the structure of power and state both within and outside of China. Focusing principally on art produced by artists from mainland China--including painting, film, video, photography, and performance--he also discusses art created in Taiwan, Hong Kong, Macau, and diasporic communities. Illustrated with 150 images, Contemporary Chinese Art unravels the complexities of politics, artistic practice, and culture in play in China's art scene.
Contemporary Chinese Art: Primary Documents by
Despite the liveliness and creativity of avant-garde Chinese art in the post-Mao era and its prominence in the world of international contemporary art, until now there has been no systematic introduction to this important work in any Western language. Moreover, most of the relevant primary documents have existed only in Chinese, scattered in hard-to-find publications. Contemporary Chinese Art remedies this situation by bringing together carefully selected primary texts in English translation. Arranged in chronological order, the texts guide readers through the development of avant-garde Chinese art from 1976 until 2006. Because experimental Chinese art emerged as a domestic phenomenon in the 1970s and 1980s and its subsequent development has been closely related to China's social and economical transformation, this volume focuses on art from mainland China. At the same time, it encompasses the activities of mainland artists residing overseas, since artists who emigrated in the 1980s and 1990s were often key participants in the early avant-garde movements and have continued to interact with the mainland art world. The primary documents include the manifestos of avant-garde groups, prefaces to important exhibitions, writings by representative artists, important critical and analytical essays, and even some official documents. Each chapter and section begins with a concise preface explaining the significance of the texts and providing the necessary historical background; the volume includes a timeline summarizing important art phenomena and related political events. Publication of the Museum of Modern Art
Berkshire Dictionary of Chinese Biography by 
History of Japanese Art by 
History of Art in Japan by
History of Art in Japan is a fully illustrated overview of Japanese art, written by one of Japan's most distinguished art historians. This masterful account of the country's exceptional cultural heritage sheds light on how Japan has nurtured distinctive aesthetics, prominent artists, and movements that have achieved global influence and popularity. A leading authority on Japanese art history, Tsuji Nobuo discusses works ranging from the Jōmon period to contemporary art, from earthenware figurines in 13,000 BCE to manga, anime, and modern subcultures. He explains crucial aspects of Japan's many artistic mediums and styles--including paintings, ukiyo-e, ceramics, sculpture, armor, gardens, and architecture--covering thousands of years. Drawing on newly discovered archaeological findings and the latest research, the book examines Japanese art in various contexts, including Buddhist and religious influences, aristocratic and popular aesthetics, and interactions with the world. Generously illustrated with hundreds of full-color images, maps, and figures, History of Art in Japan is an indispensable resource for all those interested in this multifaceted history, illuminating countless aspects of Japanese art for scholars and general readers alike.
A History of Japanese Art: From Prehistory to the Taisho Period by
A History of Japanese Artt offers readers a comprehensive view of Japanese art through Japanese eyes--a view that is the most revealing of all perspectives. At the same time, it provides readers with a guide to the places in Japan where the best and most representative creations of Japanese art are to be seen.
Edo: Art in Japan 1615-1868 by 
A Dictionary of Japanese Artists by 
Japanese Art: Critical and Primary Sources. 4 vols. by 
Japanese art and Japonisme, 6 vols.
Reprints of early writings on the influence of Japanese art on Western Art by Western scholars. Includes a modern introduction.
v. 1. A glimpse at the Art of Japan / James Jackson Jarves
v. 2. Art and art industries in Japan / Rutherford Alcock
v. 3. Japan: its architecture, art and art manufactures / Christopher Dresser
v. 4. Japan and its art / Marcus B. Huish
v. 5. Japanese wood Engravings: their history, technique and characteristics ; Catalogue of prints and books illustrating the history of engraving in Japan / William Anderson
v. 6. An artist's letters from Japan / John La Farge.
Dictionary of Korean Art and Archaeology by 
Korea: Art and Archaeology by 
Arts of Korea by 
Korean Art from 1953: Collision, Innovation, Interaction by 
Dictionary of South and Southeast Asian Art by 
Portraiture in South Asia since the Mughals by 
How to Read Buddhist Art by 
Interpreting Mughal Painting by 
Modern Art of Southeast Asia: Introductions from A to Z by
Modern Art of Southeast Asia: Introductions from A to Z features 60 concise and accessibly written accounts of the key ideas and currents underlying modern art in the region. These are accompanied by over 250 beautifully reproduced artworks from the collection of National Gallery Singapore, and other public and private collections in Southeast Asia and beyond. The book offers an informative first encounter with art as well as refreshing perspectives, and is a rewarding resource for students.
Asian Art by New on the Getty Research Institute Portal:
Nearly 1,000 free digitized Japanese art exhibition catalogues...
Munsterberg. Writing About Art. HumRef N 7467 .M867c 2009 + e-book
Biggs. The Routledge Companion to Research in the Arts. HumRef NX 280 .R68 2010 + e-book
Barnet. A Short Guide to Writing about Art. HumRef N 7476 .B37 2015
Williams. How to Write About Contemporary Art. HumRef N 7476 .W544x 2014
Asian Theatre Video Collection
The Asian Theatre video collection offers interviews with leading performers and practitioners, and houses several filmed performances, documentaries, rehearsal footage, and training videos. Several are from Japanese traditions. From Butoh to Bollywood, Bunraku to Topeng, this collection is a vital repository for students and academics interested in Asia’s rich theatrical traditions, this collection is a vital repository for students and academics interested in Asia’s rich theatrical traditions.
The Art of Princess Mononoke by
The art, from conception to release, of the classic Hayao Miyazaki film Princess Mononoke, including a look at Miyazaki's original art and the use of computer graphics technology in the film. The latest in the perennially popular line of Studio Ghibli art books, which include interviews, concept sketches, and finished animation cels from classics such as Spirited Away and My Neighbor Totoro. Princess Mononoke was the first Hayao Miyazaki film to break out into the American mainstream. The journey from initial idea to the big screen is captured here, in the hundreds of images from preliminary sketches to dynamic animation cels.
The Art of Howl's Moving Castle by
Shortly after reaping the rewards from his movie Spirited Away, a project that earned him an Academy Award in 2003, director Hayao Miyazaki set his sites on his next film, Howl's Moving Castle.Based on the novel by British author Diana Wynne Jones, Howl's Moving Castle gave the internationally renown director an opportunity to bring to life a fantastical time in 19th century Europe when science and magic defined the popular zeitgeist.Veering slightly from its source material, the new Miyazaki movie nonetheless retains all the novel's principal characters. There's a foppish wizard named Howl, a vain witch from the wastelands, an anthropomorphic chimney fire and a young girl who carries a most unusual curse. And, of course, there's the moving castle...a towering, omnipresent structure that dominates the landscape. Already a smash success in Japan, Howl's Moving Castle finally comes to U.S. theatres this spring. To coincide with its Stateside release, VIZ is proud to present The Art of Howl's Moving Castle, a hardbound, prestige format book which acts as an essential companion to the film. A generous collection of concept sketches, fully rendered character and background drawings, paintings and cell images, The Art of Howl's Moving Castle brings the movie into your library. Along with the stunning visuals, the book also presents interviews and comments with the production staff, including key points directly from the director.There's more than one way to book passage on the moving castle. See the movie, but don't forget to reserve a copy of the book, as well. The Art of Howl's Moving Castle is a great way to preserve the magic of the next great anime classic from Hayao Miyazaki. Shortly after reaping the rewards from his movie Spirited Away, a project that earned him an Academy Award in 2003, director Hayao Miyazaki set his sites on his next film, Howl's Moving Castle. Based on the novel by British author Diana Wynne Jones, Howl's Moving Castle gave the internationally renowned director an opportunity to bring to life a fantastical time in 19th century Europe when science and magic defined the popular zeitgeist. Veering slightly from its source material, the new Miyazaki movie nonetheless retains all the novel's principal characters. There's a foppish wizard named Howl, a vain witch from the wastelands, an anthropomorphic chimney fire and a young girl who carries a most unusual curse. And, of course, there's the moving castle...a towering, omnipresent structure that dominates the landscape. Already a smash success in Japan, Howl's Moving Castle finally comes to U.S. theatres this spring. To coincide with its Stateside release, VIZ is proud to present The Art of Howl's Moving Castle, a hardbound, prestige format book which acts as an essential companion to the film. A generous collection of concept sketches, fully rendered character and background drawings, paintings and cell images, The Art of Howl's Moving Castle brings the movie into your library. Along with the stunning visuals, the book also presents interviews and comments with the production staff, including key points directly from the director. There's more than one way to book passage on the moving castle. See the movie, but don't forget to reserve a copy of the book, as well. The Art of Howl's Moving Castle is a great way to preserve the magic of the next great anime classic from Hayao Miyazaki.
The Art of Ponyo by
Ponyo, loosely based on Hans Christian Andersen's The Little Mermaid, is a hand-drawn feature-length film. This ART OF book includes not only cell artwork, but also striking watercolour and pastel concept sketches and layout pages. The book also has interviews with production principals about their daring choice to hand draw a film in the age of CGI and the screenplay completes the package.
Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind: Watercolor Impressions by
An epic fantasy written and illustrated by the legendary director Hayao Miyazaki! From the vaults of Academy Award-winning director, Hayao Miyazaki! Original watercolor illustrations used as concept sketches for both the manga and film versions of Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind. Take a peek behind the curtain to see the creative process of the most acclaimed anime director in the world today. This full-color, over-sized, hardcover book also includes Miyazaki's earliest sketches that eventually became the basis for some of the most beloved anime movies of the past 20 years. From the vaults of Academy Award-winning director Hayao Miyazaki! Original watercolor illustrations used as concept sketches for both the manga and film versions of Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind. Take a peek behind the curtain to see the creative process of the most acclaimed anime director in the world today. This full-color, oversized hardcover book also includes Miyazaki's earliest sketches that eventually became the basis for some of the most beloved anime movies of the past 20 years.
The Art of My Neighbor Totoro by
A generous collection of concept sketches, fully rendered character and background drawings, paintings and cell images! Meet the film's principal characters and read interviews and comments with the production staff. A generous collection of concept sketches, fully rendered character and background drawings, paintings and cell images! Meet the novel's principal characters and read interviews and comments with the production staff.
The Art of Castle in the Sky by
The definitive examination of the art and animation of Studio Ghibli's masterpiece of fantasy and flight, Castle in the Sky! The latest in the perennially popular line of Studio Ghibli art books, which include interviews, concept sketches and finished animation cels from classics such as Spirited Away and My Neighbor Totoro. Hayao Miyazaki's Castle in the Sky was the first feature film produced by the legendary Studio Ghibli. Sheeta, a girl who has the power to defy gravity, is on the run from pirates when she meets the young inventor Pazu. Together they explore the secrets of Laputa, a flying city constructed by a long-lost race of people. All of Miyazaki's major themes--the power of flight, the bravery of young women, and a world wrecked by change--are captured with beautiful animation and joyous storytelling.
The Art of Porco Rosso by
In Early 1930's era Italy, air pirates, bounty hunters and high flyers of all sorts rule the skies. The most cunning and skilled of these pilots is Porco Rosso, a man cursed with the head of a pig after watching the spirits of the pilots killed in the last air battle he fought in rise to the heavens. He now makes a living taking jobs, such as rescuing those kidnapped by air pirates. Donald Curtis, Porco's rival in the air and in catching the affections of women, provides a constant challenge to the hero, culminating in a hilarious, action packed finale. The Art of Porco Rosso English Version, a film by Hayao Miyazaki. Contains Original Story The Age of the Flying Boat, Full of Pride and Freedom, Ships in the Sky, Art of Art, Film Ending Illustrations.
The Art of the Secret World of Arrietty by
Co-founded by the legendary filmmaker Hayao Miyazaki, Studio Ghibli films have enthralled and enchanted audiences across the world. The Art of series gives fans the opportunity to follow their favorite film from initial concept to the silver screen, thanks to hundreds of sketches, concept drawings, and animation cels, plus in-depth interviews with the creators.
The Art of the Wind Rises by
The latest in the perennially popular line of Studio Ghibli artbooks, which includes interviews, concept sketches, and finished animation cels from classics such as Spirited Away and My Neighbor Totoro. The Wind Rises is Miyazaki's love letter to the power of flight and the imagination, an examination of the rise of Japan's military might in the years leading up to the Second World War, and a call for worldwide peace and harmony in the face of destruction. This book captures the art of the film, from conception to production, and features in-depth interviews with the filmmakers.
