Subject Guides: Asian Art: Books

Finding Books

ScholarSearch
Search books, journals, articles, or other electronic materials. Use SIMPLE or ADVANCED search at the top. If looking for books only, be sure to select item type=books

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Search catalogs of other libraries. You can find out if other libraries have what you need and order books through our Interlibrary Loan Services. Worldcat is a national consortia of libraries.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. By logging into Google Scholar from off-campus, the library holdings will be integrated into your search results allowing you to quickly find the full-text of scholarly materials.

How To Search for Asian Art Books

Art books are cataloged according to the following subject patterns:

MEDIUM | ex: art, painting, sculpture, installation
NATIONALITY | ex: art, Japanese; painting, Chinese
GENRE | ex: landscape painting, Chinese
TIME PERIOD | ex: art, Japanese--20th century

Try browsing these selected subject headings and explore others you discover in the records:

Art, Asian--21st century
Art and society--Asia

Art, Chinese
Art, Chinese--21st Century
Artists--China
Artists--China (e-books)

Art, Japanese
Artists--Japan
Painting, Japanese
Painters--Japan
Scrolls, Japanese
Ink painting, Japanese
Art--Political aspects--Japan

Art, Korean
Artists--Korea
Pottery, Korean
etc.

Additional Sources for Digitized Art Books

Getty Research Portal
Contains 170,000 digitized volumes from nearly 40 contributing institutions around the world. Free and open access to the digitized literature of art history.

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window The Hathi Trust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations. Check the Full view only box when searching to limit your results to freely accessible materials.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. By logging into Google Scholar from off-campus, the library holdings will be integrated into your search results allowing you to quickly find the full-text of scholarly materials.

Google Book Search Google Book Search searches a growing "database" of digitized books with access to Full Text View, Sample Page View, and Snippet Views, depending on the title.
Internet Archive Vast collection of digitized books including art and design books, exhibition catalogs, and museum publications. Popular and academic books from American and Canadian Libraries, Community Texts, Project Gutenberg, etc.
The Getty Virtual Library
more...less...
Over 300 titles published by the Getty Museum, the Getty Conservation Institute, and the Getty Research Institute. Publications date back to 1966 and include collection catalogues, translations of groundbreaking texts on the visual arts, essential works of art historical research, exhibition catalogues, journals, etc. The titles are fully searchable and most of them are accompanied by a description, a table of contents, and author biographies.

Call Numbers | Level 5

Level 5 | FLOOR MAP

N 7340 Chinese Art (General)
NA 1540 Chinese Architecture
NB 1040 Chinese Sculpture
NB 1912 Buddhist Sculpture
ND 1036 Chinese Painting
ND 1050 Japanese Painting
ND 1060 Korean Painting
NK 3634 Chinese Calligraphy

Browsing the bookshelves often leads to surprise discoveries.

Click below to download a detailed listing of call numbers for books on Asian Art in the BYU Library.

Call Numbers for Asian Art Books in the BYU Library

Bibliography Maker

Create and format your own bibliography of articles, books, etc. Import references from databases and use the style guide of your choice!

Step-by-Step Guide

Japanese Exhibition Catalogs

New on the Getty Research Institute Portal:
Nearly 1,000 free digitized Japanese art exhibition catalogues...