Subject Guides: Social Sciences Data: Economy

United States

Economic Indicators
Current and time series data on key economic indicators in the United States. Provided by the Census Bureau.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
FRED provides over 40,000 economic times series, from unemployment to interest rates to population and housing. Includes mapping and graphing tools, mobile apps and an add-in for Excel.
Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
Find time series data on elements of the United States economy such as employment, price indexes, and wages.
Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
Data on economic indicators in the United States. Once you find a dataset you want scroll down to the "Interactive Data" option to view and download.
National Longitudinal Surveys of Youth (NLSY)
Access survey data over time on topics such as economic well-being, education, health, and family. Available for cohorts starting in 1979 and 1997, followed to the present.
Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP)
Panel data on economic well-being and family dynamics for households in the United States. Available from 1984-on.

Utah State Open Data - Business & Economy
A catalog of datasets from the state government. Includes data on Utah's economy, business environment, labor force, and mobility.
Gardner Policy Institute
Reports and data on Utah economics, demographics, and policy. Formerly the Bureau of Economic and Business Research (BEBR). Hosted at the University of Utah.
Department of Workforce Services
Provides data on employment, labor force, and industry indicators in Utah.

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
A source for historic data and statistics on the United States, including topics such as business, health, industries, labor force, population, and poverty. Data available for 1700s to 2000.
Global Commodities This link opens in a new window
Data on prices for staple products over time, by geographic region.

IMF International Financial Statistics
Access data on economic indicators over time for countries throughout the world.
Measuring Worth
Provides time series data on the economies of the US, UK, Australia, and Spain.
World Bank Business Ready
Data on business and economic health in countries throughout the world.
Economic Freedom of the World
A global dataset with measures for economic freedom available starting in 1970, from the Fraser Institute.
Index of Economic Freedom
Data on economic freedom measures for 184 counties from 1995-present. Created by the Heritage Foundation think tank.

Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
Under "Comparative Statistics" find options to export country data on topics such as, the economy, education, health, and industry.

TradeStats Express
Access data on trade for the United States, including between individual states and metropolitan areas.
UN Comtrade
Extensive data on trade between countries, available from 1962-present.
U.S. International Trade Commission
Create a free account to access and download data on tariffs and trade between the United States and other countries.
World Trade Organization Stats
Time series data on trade and market indicators with international coverage.
USA Trade Online
Extensive data on US imports and exports down to port and commodity level. Create a free account to access the data.

U.S. Census Data
Data from Decennial Census, American Community Survey (ACS), and Economic Census. Includes the ability to build custom tabulations and thematic maps.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Provides quick and easy access to current and historical census demographic data. Access and download data in table form using the Create Report feature.

Email Me

Contact:

1212 HBLL

(801) 422-3924

Subjects: Business & Economics