Subject Guides: Social Sciences Data: Religion & Family History

Demographics

United States Census Data

Includes data on age, race, sex, education, and more from 1790-present.

IPUMS USA
Access microdata from the US Census (1790-2010) and American Community Survey (2000-on) in a user-friendly format.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Provides quick and easy access to current and historic census data. Access data in map or table form, or find profiles for specific locations.

U.S. Census Data
Data from the Decennial Census and American Community Survey. Includes the ability to build custom tabulations, thematic maps, and location profiles.

Historic Data

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Source for historic data and statistics on the United States, including topics such as health, migration, mortality, and population. Data available for 1700s to 2000. Includes mortality data.

Human Mortality Database
Birth and death rates, life expectancy, and risk factor data for countries throughout the world. Data available starting in the 1700s for some countries.
Historic Wages & Prices
Data and statistics on average wages and prices in the United States and internationally (from 1700s-on).
IPUMS International
Collection of demographic census microdata from 102 countries around the world, from the 1960s-on. Historical surveys available for some countries into the 1800s.

International

Population Reference Bureau
Find data on births, disease, life expectancy, and other health factors in United States and internationally.

Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
Under "Comparative Statistics" find options to export country data on population, health, and education.

OECD Historical Population Data
Demographic and population data for countries throughout the world, from 1950-present.

Population and Membership

US Religion Census
Religious membership in the United States, down to the county level. Available from 1980-2020.
International Religious Freedom Reports
Describe the state of religious freedom in countries throughout the world, including statistics on membership.
Reaching the Nations
Online country reports on the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Includes history, challenges, and opportunities for membership growth.
World Religion Database
Population data by religion for countries throughout the world, from 1900-present (with estimates to 2050).

Surveys on attendance, opinions, values, etc.

Pew Research Center
Create a free account to download survey data on opinions, values and demographics, including religion.
General Social Survey (GSS)
Includes questions on religious beliefs and related values from Americans, 1972-present.
World Values Survey
Includes questions religious views for individuals from countries throughout the world, 1981-present.
Association of Religious Data Archives
A collection of survey data focusing on and including religion, from the US and internationally.

CDC Mental Health Data & Statistics
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention data on mental health and wellness.
IBIS: Utah Public Health Data
Reports and data on mental health indicators in Utah.
National Alliance on Mental Illness State Fact Sheets
Quick statistics on mental health throughout the United States.

Email Me

Contact:

1212 HBLL

(801) 422-3924

Subjects: Business & Economics