Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Data Sources
Data Planet (SAGE) This link opens in a new window
Browse available datasets by subject and source, manipulate variables to create custom views, and search for statistics on a wide variety of topics.
Portal to access open data from the United States government, covers a wide variety of topics.
State of Utah Open Data
Data from the state government on a variety of topics including the arts, economy, education, environment, and transportation.
CIA World Factbook
Find data comparing a variety of topics and measures across countries.
A repository of global research data on topics such as economics, education, politics, and society.
For topics with a geographic component, find data on a environment, demographics, health, education and more. Available formats include Excel, Stata, and R.
OECD Statistics This link opens in a new window
Find global data on a variety of statistics from agriculture to finance to social welfare.
Not sure where to start?
- Try Google's Dataset Search
- Browse topics in a large repository like UN Data
- Search Google for data from the government, a great source for many different topics. Just add your topic keywords to the beginning of the search below:
Specific Data Sources
Check out lists of websites and data sources for specific subjects related to your research question at state, national, and global levels.
- Business: Includes companies, finance, industry, marketing, real estate, and supply chain.
- Economy: Includes indicators, labor force, population, and trade.
- Education: Includes demographics, finances, outcomes, rankings, and scores.
- Energy & Environment: Includes agriculture, earth science, pollution, and weather.
- Family & Society: Includes attitudes, behaviors, census, demographic, religion, and time use.
- Government & Politics: Includes diplomacy, elections, finance, justice, and political parties.
- Health & Medicine: Includes access, finance, health factors and outcomes, and hospitals.
- Science & Technology: Includes computers and internet, biology, chemistry, and physics.
- Other: Includes food, libraries, research metrics, sports, technology, and transportation.
- Ready to Use: Datasets that are already cleaned, reformatted, and ready to analyze.
What to Look For
Search features: many data repositories have large numbers of datasets and usually include options to find what you are looking for such as a search bar, data finder/locator, or catalog.
Download buttons and wording: look for tabs, headings, and buttons that indicate you can download or export the data to work with and analyze on your own
Format options: make sure that data is in a format compatible with your preferred analysis program. CSV is a good general format that can be imported into many applications.
Documentation and Codebooks: most data sites will include information about how the data was collected and what each variable means. This information is valuable in making accurate choices and conclusions as you clean and analyze data
Social Sciences Data Librarian
Visit the Data guide for help cleaning, analyzing, managing & citing data.