Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LC Call Numbers
LC Call Numbers for Humanities Subjects:
AZ Humanities Scholarship
GT 500-2370 Costume, Dress, Fashion
GV 1580-1799 Dance
N Visual Arts (general)
NE Print Media
NK Decorative Arts
NX Fine Arts in general (including Performing Arts)
PA Greek Language & Literature/Latin Language & Literature
PL East Asian, African & Oceana Language & Literature
PN1865-1999 Cinematic Arts, Puppetry,Pantomimes, Television, Radio
PN2000-3299 Dramatic Representation
PQ Romance literatures
PR English literature
PS American literature
PT Germanic literatures
Here are some sources for book reviews. Be sure to search in some of the subject specialized periodical indexes as well.
Periodicals Index Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowPeriodicals Index Online (formerly PCI) is a database of millions of article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.
Ways to Search For Books
HBLL Scholar Search: Keyword searching. Select Books & Ebooks search and perform advance or simple searches for printed books and E-books held by HBLL.
BYU Library Catalog: Alphabetical searching, call number searching, etc. of the library collection can be done here along with keyword searching.
Other Libraries - Try WorldCat:
Unified catalog of research libraries and public libraries throughout the world. Includes books, serials, sound recordings, data files, musical scores, and visual materials. Search using Library Catalog commands. Updated daily. Interlibrary loan database. Look up book, and order it from interlibrary loan.
Finding a Standard Edition
Suggestions for finding the standard editions of literary works:
- Consult bibliographies devoted to the author - Catalog search tip: Perform a keyword search combining the word "bibliography" or "guide" with the author's name. Or try a subject alphabetic search on the author's name (last name first), and browse the resulting list for the subheading "Bibliography."
- Find concordances devoted to an author - Catalog search tip: Perform a keyword search in the library catalog combining "concordance" or" wordlist" with author's name: ex. concordance$ and borges. Or try a subject alphabetic search on the author's name, and browse the resulting list for the subheading "Concordances." $ is truncation symbol for library catalog to retrieve both "concordance" and "concordances."
- Consult bibliographies of scholarly books/articles or look for scholarly reviews.
- Consult historical reviews and critical essays of the author's works.
- Consult with researcher(s) familiar with the scholarship (your professor perhaps).
- For contemporary authors, most likely the 1st edition will be considered the standard edition.
- Often a "Complete Works" edition will be considered the standard edtion of an author's writings.
A "Standard Edition" is" an authoritative edition of the works of a prominent writer, frequently in one volume and continuing year after year as the basic textbook. Some of these editions also remain definitive: established as the text closest to the author's original product and most inclusive in canon, through exhaustive textual collation and historical research, not yet superseded by subsequent discoveries." (from The Harper Handbook to Literature, 2nd edition, 1997)
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm
E-books on the Web
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
At Login, select Brigham Young University as your Institution to get wider access
Theses & Dissertations
Search the library catalog for BYU theses and dissertations.