Subject Guides: Humanities: Women at BYU (IHUM 390R)

BYU Library Special Collections

BYU Library's Special Collections features rare and unique materials including diaries, correspondence, and photographs. Check out their reference guide for more on hours, policies, etc.

To find materials:

1. Search the Archives (https://archives.lib.byu.edu/) by name or subject.

2. Use filters on the right side of the results page to narrow your results by year, type of material, or subject.

Additional resources:

Guide to Women's Manuscript Collections is a growing index of materials in BYU Library's Special Collections related to women. Search the Guide in addition to the Archives search above.
BYU Photographs is a digitized collection of nearly 1,000 photographs of BYU throughout its history. Though just a fraction of Special Collections' photograph holdings, it's a good place to explore the types subjects included in the broader collection.
History of Brigham Young University. In 1937, President Franklin S. Harris authorized a committee to compile a history of the university. A completed manuscript was produced and circulated in 1942. The chairs of the committee were professors Alice Louise Reynolds and J. Marinus Jensen.
A Chronological and Comparative Listing of Events of BYU, Church and State, and National History from 1847 to 1973. Published in 1974, this volume contains a chronological list of important events from the history of Brigham Young University. The events are placed in context with what was happening at the same time in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Utah, and the United States of America.
BYU Organizational History Project. Search the wiki by keyword to find departments, programs, or clubs that have existed during BYU's history. Example: see search results for "women."
BYU Alumni Achievement Award Honorees (1975 - 2023) and current honorees (2024).

BYU Campus Publications (Digitized)

Schedules

Class Schedules, 1929 - 2018

Class schedules provide information on the time, location, teacher, and credit given for each class offered at Brigham Young University. Schedules for each semester have been included as a single publication for each year listed.

Catalogs

Course Catalogs, 1901 - 2023

Course catalogs offer descriptions of the various courses offered at Brigham Young University during a given academic year. They also contain information on degree requirements and expectations.

Graduate Catalogs, 1951 - 2023

Graduate catalogs provide descriptions of graduate programs offered at Brigham Young University during a given academic year. This includes information on degree requirements and individual course content. Missing: 1978-1987.

Commencement

Commencement Programs, 1889 - 2018

Commencement Programs document thousands of candidates for graduation from Brigham Young University. The programs include information on candidate majors and honors designations.

Yearbooks

The Banyan, 1911 - 1985

Alumni Magazines

Y Magazine, 1995 - present (available at the Y Magazine website)

Performances

School of Music Programs, 1948 - 2018

One of the lasting traditions of Brigham Young University is its strong cultural emphasis and support of the fine arts. The School of Music has a rich heritage and this collection of recital programs documents that musical tradition.

Search Tips

1. Year by Year: Scroll to "University Publications" here to find year by year links for each title.

2. Complete Collection: To search across ALL class schedules, course catalogs, commencement programs, and yearbooks, visit BYU Campus Publications on the Internet Archive.

Search: to search the full text, select the option to "Search text contents."
Browse: Use the "Sort by" feature to sort by date published, date added, or weekly views. Click the up/down arrows to toggle between ascending and descending results.

BYU Student Newspapers (Digitized)

Student Newspapers

Academic Review (October 1884 - May 1885). Published by the campus Polysophical Society, which was founded by Principal K. G. Maeser in the early days of Brigham Young Academy.

The B.Y.A. Student (February 1891 - May 1891) was the first BYA student paper published for a campus audience.

The Normal (September 1891 - May 1894). Published bi-weekly during the school year, students of Brigham Young Academy wanted The Normal to highlight “synopses of lectures on the science and art of teaching, articles on pedagogy, psychology, science, literature and art, written by the professors of the Academy and other teachers, and also miscellaneous news.”

The Business Journal (November 1891 - October 1893) was bi-weekly by Brigham Young Academy students from the years 1891-1894, covering subjects of industry, agriculture, and the virtues of business.

Journal of Pedagogy (December 1894 - May 1896) was a scholastic journal which occasionally contained student news items. It was published by the department of experimental pedagogy.

The White and Blue (November 1898 - May 1923) began publication during President George Brimhall’s administration. It was the students’ voice on campus in the early 20th century.

The Y News (September 1921 - July 1948) was published twice a week and focused on campus events, sports teams, and social unit activities.

Brigham Young Universe (September 1948 - August 1956) was published twice a week during the academic year and featured articles on student life, social events, university sports teams, and letters to the editor.

Daily Universe (September 1956 - December 1996), published M-F during the academic year, the Universe included articles on student life and campus events.

The Eagle's Eye (Summer 1970 - December 2011) was a student-produced periodical focused on Native American topics and issues.

Search Tips

1. Complete Collection: To search across ALL digitized student newspapers, visit BYU Student Newspapers on the Internet Archive.

Search: to search the full text, select the option to "Search text contents."
Browse: Use the "Sort by" feature to sort by date published, date added, or weekly views. Click the up/down arrows to toggle between ascending and descending results.

Key Family History Websites

Family history websites can point to obituaries or other valuable sources for dates and names.

A shared family tree with numerous free genealogical resources and information.

Available only on the BYU campus. An extensive family history database that offers more than 1 billion names.

Offers more than 1.7 billion international family history records.

MyHeritage Library Edition (BYU Campus) and MyHeritage include numerous records and more than 3 billion family tree profiles.

Utah County Obituary Index

Find where obituaries were published. After identifying the newspaper and date, find the full text using microfilm, FamilySearch, or Utah Digital Newspapers.