With all copyright cleared for educational use, Bridgeman Education gives you access to the visual culture of every civilization and every period from Prehistory to the present day across continents and civilizations.
Usage Terms: Permitted educational use means: preparation of coursework including lectures, notes, seminars, essays, dissertations and theses, which will be used or presented within the context of the courses or educational teaching offered by the institution. Specifically excluded are: Any display or exposure of images which will be made available to anyone who is not an ‘Authorised End User’. Selling or licensing coursework including the images outside the institution without paying the appropriate fee. (This means that; papers, dissertations, theses, lectures, coursework, presentations which are used or presented to persons outside the institution you belong to are excluded.)
Performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video. Titles represent hundreds of leading actors, directors and playwrights, including William Shakespeare.
Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection from Alexander Street Press delivers, for the first time online, more than 300 important dramatic works in streaming audio from the curated archive of the nation’s premiere radio theatre company. The plays - which include some of the most significant dramatic literature of the nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first centuries - are performed by leading actors from around the world and recorded specifically for online listening.
he Poetry Archive is an independent organization founded by the former British poet laureate, Andrew Motion, who was concerned that high quality audio recordings of contemporary poets reading their own works were not being produced and that consequently an important resource was being lost for posterity. The Poetry Archive was thus established to create recordings of important contemporary poets based on the belief that such readings are a powerful source of insight, understanding and enjoyment. As well as creating brand new recordings, the Archive also gathers together and preserves historic and hard to find recordings of long dead poets. So, The Poetry Archive enables listeners to hear the works of contemporary poets such as Billy Collins, Carol Ann Duffy and Michael Longley alongside historic recordings of Edmund Blunden, E.E. Cummings, Sylvia Plath and many more
Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world's largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 35,940 CDs with more than 513,000 tracks. On average, 500 new CDs are added to the library every month. The library offers the catalogs of more than 50 classical, jazz and world music labels with more labels joining every month. Among the labels whose catalogs are included in the service are leading independent classical labels such as BIS, Chandos, CPO, Haenssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Vanguard Classics, VOX, and of course Naxos. World music content is provided by ARC, Celestial Harmonies and others; and there is also jazz, film music, nostalgia, classic and contemporary rock content.
Classical Music Library is the world's largest multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries. The growing collection of 50,000-plus tracks includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from the earliest times (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera. This release includes 3,625 albums, equalling 55,902 tracks, growing regularly.
Opera in Video will contain 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon. The collection presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes. Multiple performances and stagings worldwide of the major operas allow for analysis of stage design, vocal techniques, roles, and musical interpretation across time periods, opera houses, and conductors.
Dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
Explore 44,500 selected recordings of music, spoken word, and human and natural environments. Of particular interest will be classical music, jazz and popular music, sound recording history, and world and traditional music collections. Not all recordings are available worldwide; searching may be limited to freely-available recordings only if desired.