Looking for a specific newspaper? Use the Journals link to locate and search the contents of a particular paper.
Newspapers (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowThis ProQuest database provides full text of more than 700 U.S. and international news sources. Includes The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Years of coverage vary by title.
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowIncludes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowAn interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. This current database begins its coverage in 1990.
US Hispanic Newsstream (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowUS Hispanic Newsstream offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from US publishers in both Spanish and English.
Gale NewsstandThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to full-text newspapers and allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. The database offers a one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.
General OneFile (Gale)This link opens in a new windowOne-stop source for news, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines.
FactivaThis link opens in a new windowGlobal news and business information service including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires, The Wall Street Journal, and thousands of other national and international newspapers in multiple languages. Also provides financial market data and company information.
No Systematic Downloading. Factiva may not be used for data mining, text mining, or trend analysis functions.
Latin American Newsstand (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowA selection of full-text Latin-American newspapers and newswires covering international and Latin-American regional topics.
Periodical & News Archives
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection (Gale)This link opens in a new windowThe newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media
Eighteenth Century Journals PortalThis link opens in a new window18th Century Journals from Adam Matthew brings together rare journals printed between 1685 and 1835, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years. Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French Revolution; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and coffee house gossip and discussion.
British Library Online Newspaper Archive (Gale)This link opens in a new windowThis new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection.
American Periodical Series Online 1741-1900 (ProQuest - Full text)This link opens in a new windowA Historical American Periodicals database. This database includes digitized images of popular magazines and other rare periodicals from early American history up through the 1940s. Images are scanned from original pages and appear in their original layout with pictures and graphics. Coverage is from 1741 to 1941 and includes over 1000 different titles.
HARPWEEKThis link opens in a new windowHarper’s Weekly newspaper covered the Civil War Era, 1857-1871. Prolific Latter-day Saint and Civil War subject content. Fully indexed, web access. Original displayed in image format.
Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowAAI indexes and abstracts the entire journal contents of 42 American art periodicals published between 1840-1907. Includes articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, advertisements, exhibitions, and works of art.
New York Times Archive (1851-2006)This link opens in a new windowA ProQuest Historical Newspaper, the New York Times Archive (1851-2006) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Periodicals Archive Online (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowPeriodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
Periodical Source Index (PERSI)This link opens in a new windowPERSI is a comprehensive subject index to genealogy and local history periodicals written in English and French (Canada) since 1800. The collection also includes literature dating from the 1700s, although the material before 1800 is less complete.
Readers' Guide Retrospective (EBSCO)This link opens in a new window1890-1982. Indexes the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. Subjects covered include archaeology, astronomy, biographies, business, education, environment, fine arts, foreign affairs, history, journalism, literature, medicine, news, popular culture, religion, science, and travel.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive (Gale)This link opens in a new windowContains every page of every copy of the TLS published from 1902 to 2005. Indexes over 250,000 reviews, letters, poems, and articles from over 5,000 issues.
Times (London) Digital Archive (1785-1985) (Gale)This link opens in a new windowResearchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper, 1785-1985, is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
ABU is a corpus of literature, mainly French, searchable by author, text, or words
ARTFLThis link opens in a new windowA collaborative project from the University of Chicago and other publishers this database provides a wide range of resources. Sources include French texts, articles, encyclopedias, images and dictionaries. Many of the resources are full-text. Coverage includes many classical texts ranging from the 12th to the 20th century.
Early Canadiana Online is a full text online collection of more than 3,000 books and pamphlets documenting Canadian history from the first European contact to the late 19th century. The collection is particularly strong in literature, women's history, native studies, travel and exploration, and the history of French Canada
Do check any "note sur le droit d'auteur" for copyright status, since it varies from country to country. Click on "Ebooks" for a search or browse menu.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)This link opens in a new windowContains English & foreign language titles published in the United Kingdom between 1701 and 1800, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.150,000 works covering the American Revolution, French Revolution, and Industrial Revolution. Full-text searchable, ECCO enables library patrons to search for books and broadsides, Bibles, tracts and sermons, printed ephemera, and studies in every academic discipline: History and Geography, Social Science and Fine Arts, Medicine, Science and Technology, Literature and Language, Religion and Philosophy, and Law.
Have a look at their print and digital collections.
Literature Online (LION)This link opens in a new windowIndexes the full-text of nine literary databases dealing with English poetry and drama, 18th century fiction, American and African poetry and Shakespeare. Also contains selected reference works and provides access to related literary websites.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (Gale)This link opens in a new windowNCCO includes British Politics and Society; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; and British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture.
Project RunebergOver 300 works of Nordic literature on the Internet. These include vernacular texts in Danish, Finnish, Norwegian, Icelandic and Swedish, with the preponderance in Swedish.
Women, War and Society, 1914-1918 (Gale)This link opens in a new windowThe First World War had a revolutionary and permanent impact on the personal, social and professional lives of all women. Their essential contribution to the war in Europe is fully documented in this definitive collection of primary source materials brought together in the Imperial War Museum, London.
Victorian Literary ManuscriptsThis link opens in a new windowVictorian Manuscripts from the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of The New York Public Library. Authors represented in this collection include: Matthew Arnold, The Brontes, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Robert Browning, Wilkie Collins, Joseph Conrad, Charles Dickens, George Eliot, George Gissing, Thomas Hardy, Henry James, Dante Gabriel Rossetti, John Ruskin, Alfred Tennyson, and William Makepeace Thackeray. Unpublished poems, working notebooks, holograph manuscripts and drawings trace the inspiration and genesis behind the period's greatest works. Researchers and students can trace the close interconnection of these Victorian authors and subsequently their texts through the mass of personal correspondence between them, revealing the close circles in which the Victorian literary world moved. From Adam Matthew Digital.
Victorian Popular CultureThis link opens in a new windowFrom Adam Matthew Digital, an essential resource for the study of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Includes spiritualism, sensation, magic, circuses, sideshows, freaks, music hall, theatre, and popular entertainment.
Wright American Fiction, 1851-1875This link opens in a new windowAs listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography "American Fiction, 1851-1875." There are currently 2,839 titles available (2,887 volumes) including T.S. Arthur, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Alice Cary and David Ross Locke, a.k.a. Petrolium V. Nasby, one of Lincoln's favorites.
