Subject Guides: Nursing: Home & Articles

Your Librarian

Betsy Hopkins

Email Me

Contact:

betsy_hopkins@byu.edu
2317 HBLL and 561 KMBL

801-422-6777

KMBL Office Hours

What: Office hours Winter 2025

When: Tuesdays 9-10:45, Wednesdays 9-12

Where: 561 KMBL

I'm available other times, as well. Check my availability using the "Schedule an Appointment" button above, or email me directly at betsy_hopkins@byu.edu.

Have a Question? Get Help Here

Research Databases

For Journal Articles in Nursing and Medicine

CINAHL (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Alternate title: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) (EBSCO). 1982+ CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, covers over 2800 professional journals in nursing, 17 health disciplines, and health sciences librarianship. Includes access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software in nursing, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Updated monthly.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
MEDLINE (PUBMED) This link opens in a new window Alternate title: PubMed. MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 25 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. MEDLINE includes literature published from 1966 to present, and selected coverage of literature prior to that period. Currently, citations from more than 5,200 worldwide journals in about 40 languages are added to Pub Med 7 days a week.
Embase This link opens in a new window Embase covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus.

Additional Health and Medicine Databases

Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Updated on a quarterly basis, The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of eight evidence-based medicine databases. It is the best single source of reliable evidence about the effects of healthcare.
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.
Health and Safety Science Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Provides a comprehensive, timely survey of recent work relating to public health, safety, and industrial hygiene. The database provides the latest perspectives on topics of widespread concern such as aviation and aerospace safety, environmental safety, nuclear safety, medical safety occupational safety, and ergonomics.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Indexes the full text of over 520 scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines with a particularly strong coverage of nursing and allied health. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 560 journals.

Public Health Archive (Gale) Public Health in America, 1890-1970. Covers medical economics and sociology, medical care, and legislation at both the local and federal level.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science Core Collection accesses the Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) databases, gathered from over 9,300 scholarly journals. Searches for records by topic, author, source title, author address, cited author, cited work, cited year can be performed separately or combined. Articles are linked to other articles of the same topic. Updated weekly 1974
Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 10,000 journals, including over 9,000 peer-reviewed titles. Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, womens studies, zoology and more.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window Alternate title: Research Library (ProQuest). This multi-disciplinary database includes more than 4,050 titles - nearly 2,800 in full text - from 1971 forward.
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window PQDT Global connects scholarship from 4,100 universities in over 60 countries, diverse voices, ideas, and perspectives can be viewed within a singular global context. : Each full text dissertation and thesis in PQDT is fully searchable providing an unparalleled resource for text and data mining analysis making connections that generate new insights.

Social Science Databases

APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts over one million journal, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in 2,000 journals from over 50 countries in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. PsychInfo is provided by the American Psychological Association.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts articles in sociology and related fields. Index covers 1952 to the present and is updated quarterly.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window 1970+ Indexes and abstracts journal articles and books dealing with family studies issues.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window 1967+ ERIC, the U.S. Department of Education Resource Information Center databases, contains indexing and abstracts from thousands of research and technical reports in the Resources In Education Index (RIE) and from more than 750 education and education-related journals in the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). In addition, selected full text articles are available for thousands of ERIC digest records. Updated quarterly.

AI Tools for Research

This is a rapidly changing area. Here are some tools to consider as you start to become familiar with AI research possibilities.

In general, AI tools are helpful for beginning stages of research and finding relevant terminonology. Drawbacks include that these sources are not comprehensive and results cannot be replicated.

Quick Links

BYU College of Nursing
Course Reserve
HBLL Account/Renew Materials
Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery
BYU Library Streaming Media Access streaming video here.

Nursing Education in Video (ASP) This link opens in a new window Nursing Education in Video is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS.

Clinical Information

UpToDate This link opens in a new window An evidence-based, peer reviewed database of clinical information.
For educational use only.
Micromedex Healthcare Series This link opens in a new window Provides a comprehensive, clinical knowledge base that will prepare you for success in clinical practice.

Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses All of the information you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan—well-organized monographs for hundreds of generic and thousands of trade-name drugs.

VisualDx This link opens in a new window VisualDx is a diagnostic clinical decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety.
StatPearls This link opens in a new window An expansive array of point-of-care and educational activities for health professionals in hospital, ambulatory, and community-based settings.

Nursing: Home & Articles