Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Louisa May Alcott Collection : Adaptations and Ephemera

Guide to the Louisa May Alcott Collection in L. Tom Perry Special Collections

Note

Louisa May Alcott's life and works have provided rich inspiration for later artists in a variety of media, from novels to opera to paper dolls.  These pages lists some of these adaptations held in the Louisa May Alcott Collection.

New adaptations in Special Collections

Selected film, theatrical, and musical adaptations of Alcott's works

The Alcott Collection contains copies of several motion pictures based on Alcott’s novels, including three adaptations of Little Women: the 1933 RKO release directed by George Cukor and starring Katharine Hepburn; the 1949 MGM release starring June Allyson and Peter Lawford; and 1994 Columbia release starring Winona Ryder and Susan Sarandon. Printed material issued as companion pieces to the motion pictures (such as editions illustrated with film images or adaptations based on the films) are also available. Other motion pictures in the Alcott Collection include a 1997 version of Little Men, and Wakakusa Monogatori, a Japanese anime adaptation of the Little Women novels.

Stage adaptations housed in the Alcott Collection include:

 Little women: a comedy in four acts by Marian De Forest. New York, London: Samuel French, 1921.

    Call number: Alcott Collection PS 1017 .L52 D4 1921

Little women: opera in two acts. Libretto and score by Mark Adamo. Chester, New York: G. Schirmer; Milwaukee, WI: Distributed by Hal Leonard, 2001.

    Call number: Alcott Collection Quarto M 1503 .A196 L57 2001
    Sound recording (recorded live, Mar. 17-18, 2000, Cullen Theater, Wortham Theater Center, Tex.) Helsinki: Ondine, 2001.
    Call number: Alcott Collection AC 1100 .A1 no.7

The sweet revenge of Louisa May: a musical adapted from the thrillers of Louisa May Alcott. Book by Burton Cohen, music by Stephen Hoffman, lyrics by Mark Campbell. 1993.

    Call number: Alcott Collection PS 1018 .C65 1993