Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Louisa May Alcott Collection : Alcott Ephemera

Guide to the Louisa May Alcott Collection in L. Tom Perry Special Collections

Note

Louisa May Alcott's life and works have provided rich inspiration for later artists in a variety of media, from novels to opera to paper dolls.  These pages lists some of these adaptations held in the Louisa May Alcott Collection.

Selected Printed Ephemera

Printed ephemera in the Alcott Collection includes toy books, including Little Women paper dolls and coloring books; pamphlets, programs, and calendars produced by Orchard House Museum and the Louisa May Alcott Memorial Association; vintage postcards; and advertising leaflets from Alcott’s publisher, Roberts Brothers. The following are but a few examples:

Little Women: giant coloring book. New York: Modern Publishing, 2004.

    Call number: Alcott Collection Quarto PS 1017 .A1a #109

The Poetry of Louisa May Alcott. Concord, Mass.: Louisa May Alcott Memorial Association, 1997.

    Call number: Alcott Collection PS 1017 .A1 #37

Postcards of Louisa May Alcott and Orchard House, circa 1910.

    Call number: Alcott Collection PS 1017 .A1 #43

Publisher’s advertising leaflet for Jo’s Boys, and How They Turned Out. Boston: Roberts Brothers, circa 1886.

    Call number: Alcott Collection PS 1017 .A1 #16