Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Louisa May Alcott Collection : Posthumous works

Guide to the Louisa May Alcott Collection in L. Tom Perry Special Collections

New Alcott editions in Special Collections

First editions of works collected and published posthumously

 Comic tragedies written by “Jo” and “Meg” (1893). Boston: Roberts Brothers.

  • A collection of plays issued by L.M. Alcott’s sister Anna.
    Call number: Alcott Collection PS 1017 .C6 1893
    3 editions.

Behind a Mask: The Unknown Thrillers. New York: Morrow, 1975.

  • Collects several stories Alcott published under the pseudonym A. M. Barnard: “Behind a mask, or, A woman’s power;” “Pauline’s passion and punishment;” “The mysterious key and what it opened;” and “The abbot’s ghost, or Maurice Treherne’s temptation.”
    Call number: Alcott Collection PS 1017 .B44 1975
  • Note: “Behind a Mask” was serialized in Flag of Our Union v. 21 (1866). Call number: Alcott Collection Quarto AP 2 .F58
    “Pauline’s passion and punishment” was serialized in Frank Leslie’s illustrated newspaper v. 15 (Jan 1863). Call number: Alcott Folio PS 1017 .A1 no.4

Plots and Counterplots: More unknown thrillers of Louisa May Alcott. New York: Morrow, 1976.

  • Collects “V. V.; or, Plots and counterplots;” “A marble woman; or, The mysterious model;” “The skeleton in the closet;” “A whisper in the dark;” and “Perilous play.”
    Call number: Alcott Collection PS 1016 .S7 1976
  • Note: “A whisper in the dark” was serialized in Frank Leslie’s illustrated newspaper v. 16 (June 1863). Call number: Alcott Collection Folio PS 1017 .A1 no.5
    “Perilous Play” was serialized in Frank Leslie’s Popular monthly v. 2, 1876. Call number: Alcott Collection PS 1017 .P47 1876

A Long Fatal Love Chase. New York: Random House, 1995.

  • Call number: Alcott Collection PS 1017 .L66 1995

The Inheritance. New York: Penguin, 1998.

  • Call number: Alcott Collection PS 1017 .I54 1998

The uncollected works of Louisa May Alcott. New York: Ironweed Press, 2001.

  • Call number: Alcott Collection PS 1016 .E45 2001

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Maggie Kopp
Contact:
1130 HBLL
(801) 422-6276

Visit Special Collections