Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Louisa May Alcott's life and works have provided rich inspiration for later artists in a variety of media, from novels to opera to paper dolls. These pages lists some of these adaptations held in the Louisa May Alcott Collection.
New adaptations in Special Collections
The Other Alcott by
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
The Revelation of Louisa May by
Publication Date: 2015-04-28
Works based on Alcott, her family, and her characters
Selected works based on Alcott and her family
Becoming little women: a novel about Louisa May at Fruitlands by Jeannine Atkins. New York: G.P. Putnam’s Sons/Penguin Putnam Books for Young Readers, 2001.
Call number: Alcott Collection PS 1018 A85 2001
Louisa and the missing heiress: a Louisa May Alcott mystery by Anna Maclean. New York: Signet, 2004.
Call number: Alcott Collection PS 3563 .A3169 L68 2004
Louisa May & Mr. Thoreau’s flute by Julie Dunlap. New York: Dial Books for Young Readers, 2002.
Call number: Alcott Collection PS 1018 .D85 2002
Miss Alcott’s e-mail by Kit Bakke. Boston: David R. Godine, 2006.
Call number: Alcott Collection PS 3602 .A589 M57 2006
Fictional works based on Alcott’s novels and characters
Little Women journals series by Charlotte Emerson. New York: Avon Books, 1998-99.
Four titles in the Alcott Collection, including Meg’s dearest wish and Jo’s troubled heart.
Portraits of Little Women series by Susan Beth Pfeffer. New York: Delacorte Press, 1997-2000.
Fifteen titles in the Alcott Collection, including Meg’s story, Jo makes a friend, and A gift for Beth.
March by Geraldine Brooks. New York: Viking, 2005.
Call number: Alcott Collection PR 9619.3 .B7153 M37 2005