Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Louisa May Alcott Collection : Amos Bronson Alcott

Guide to the Louisa May Alcott Collection in L. Tom Perry Special Collections

About Bronson Alcott

A. Bronson Alcott (1799-1888), father of Louisa May Alcott, was a philosopher, educator, and writer. 

New resources in Special Collections

Prose, Poetry, Journals, and Correspondence

Concord Days. Boston: Roberts Brothers, 1872.

    Call number: Alcott Collection PS 1012 .C6 1872

New Connecticut: an autobiographical poem. Boston: Privately printed, 1881.

    Call number: Alcott Collection F 104 .W8 A64 1881

Ralph Waldo Emerson philosopher and seer: an estimate of his character and genius in prose and verse. Second edition. Boston: Cupples & Hurd, 1888.

    Call number: Alcott Collection 1631 .A65 1888

Sonnets and Canzonets. Boston: Roberts Brothers, 1882.

    Call number: Alcott Collection PS 1012 .S6 1882

Tablets. Boston: Roberts Brothers, 1868.

    Call number: Alcott Collection 1012 .T3 1868

The journals of Bronson Alcott. Edited by Odell Shephard. Boston: Little, Brown and Company, 1938.

    Call number: Alcott Collection PS 1013 .A4 1938

The letters of A. Bronson Alcott. Edited by Richard L. Hernstadt. Ames: Iowa State University Press, 1969.

    Call number: Alcott Collection PS 1013 .A45 H4 1969

Notes of conversations, 1848-1875. Edited by Karen English. Madison, N.J.: Fairleigh Dickinson University Press, 2007.

    Call number: Alcott Collection PS 1013 .A43 N68 2007

Biography and Criticism

Christy, Arthur. The Orient in American transcendentalism: a study of Emerson, Thoreau, and Alcott. New York: Octagon Books, 1963.

    Call number: Alcott Collection B 905 .C5 1963

Dahlstrand, Frederick C. Amos Bronson Alcott, an intellectual biography. Rutherford, N.J.: Fairleigh Dickinson University Press, 1982.

    Call number: Alcott Collection B 908 .A54 D33 1982

Francis, Richard. Fruitlands: The Alcott family and their search for Utopia. Yale University Press, 2010.

    Call number: Alcott Collection 

James, Laurie. Outrageous questions: legacy of Bronson Alcott and America’s one-room schools . New York : Golden Heritage Press, 1994.

    Call number: Alcott Collection LC 5146 .J36 1994

Matteson, John. Eden’s outcasts: the story of Louisa May Alcott and her father. New York: W.W. Norton, 2007.

    Call number: Alcott Collection PS 1018 .M34 2007

Peabody, Elizabeth Palmer. Record of Mr. Alcott’s school: exemplifying the principles and methods of moral culture (third edition). Boston: Roberts Brothers, 1874.

    Call number: Alcott Collection LB 695 .A3 P4 1874

Sanborn, F. B. A. Bronson Alcott: his life and philosophy. Boston: Roberts Brothers, 1893.

    Call number: Alcott Collection B 908 .A54 S2 1893

Shepard, Odell. Pedlar’s progress: the life of Bronson Alcott. Boston: Little, Brown and Company, 1937.

    Call number: Alcott Collection B 908 .A54 S5 1937