Reports on consumer markets and trends. Segmentation, branding, positioning, and psychographics. Rich insight into consumer behavior and lifestyles. Coverage is deepest for the U.S.
Provides key business intelligence on consumers, countries, lifestyles, markets and companies. Excellent for market research, international business case studies, scenario planning and comparative analysis. Formerly known as Global Market Information Database (GMID).
For research or private study for academic purposes only. Only students, faculty, and staff may access.
Detailed consumer survey data. Where else can you cross-tabulate age, media consumption, political viewpoints, and the frequency of Snickers bar consumption? *May NOT be used for commercial use, consulting, or outside research projects.*
May NOT be used for commercial use, consulting, or outside research projects.
Data collected and provided by the United States Census Bureau.
American Time Use Survey (BLS)Measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work; childcare; volunteering; and socializing
"ConsumerAffairs.com is an independent Web-based consumer news and resource center."
Consumer Expenditure SurveyFrom the Bureau of Labor Statistics, this resource provides data on consumer demographics and expenditure patterns. A wide variety of reports and tables are available for download.
Consumer GuideProvides information on how to make buying decisions on thousands of products, including automobiles. Gives manufacturer suggested retail price (MSRP), best buy and budget buy recommendations.
"Consumer World was founded by Edgar Dworsky in 1995. A companion site spotlighting the loopholes in the fine print of advertising, MousePrint.org, was launched in 2006."
The FTC provides information and resources on consumer protection issues.
NHTSA's 5-Star Safety RatingNHTSA's 5-Star Safety Ratings help consumers make smart decisions about safety
when purchasing a vehicle. You can also search ratings by manufacturer.
StatsAmericaStatsAmerica is a service of the Indiana Business Research Center (IBRC) at Indiana University's Kelley School of Business. Includes thousands of data items from hundreds of data sets from dozens of federal and state sources, along with some commercial or private source data.
Surveys of Consumers from University of MichiganMaintained by University of Michigan. Contains numerous useful links to data and surveys on consumer sentiment, attitudes, behavior, spending, and expenditure.
Utah Consumer ProtectionLinks to the Utah Division of Consumer Protection, a division of the Utah Department of Commerce, which has its purpose to respond to consumer complaints, unfair and deceptive business practices, and provide consumer education.
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
ProQuest Statistical Abstracts of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
US Census Bureau's website fact finder section. This free web site has Census data from the Decennial Census Summary Files, American Community Survey Summary Tables, and Economic Census. American FactFinder can create custom tabulations from micro data files, compute simple statistics, and create a thematic map for a specific geographic place.
Most of these tools are licensed for the use of BYU students and employees for academic purposes only. Content or access must not be provided to any outside individuals or organizations, although BYU students can reference these tools in support of course requirements. Contact your librarian with questions.
On professional development leave through December 2024 (returning January 2025). For research assistance, please contact my colleagues listed on this page.
