Subject Guides: Journalism &amp; News Media: Government Information

U.S. Government

LegiStorm This link opens in a new window
LegiStorm Pro gives users access to a variety of information about officials and staffers in Congress, including: Biographical information, contact details, staff position tracking, revolving door tracking, policy reports, social media accounts, Congressional expenditures, salaries, and other disclosures.

CONGRESS.gov
Listing of legislative resources including full text of major legislation, bill summary and status, and full text Congressional Record and index from 1989. Also includes congressional committee reports, public laws, historical documents, and links to other Congressional sites.
GPO Access (Government Printing Office)
Includes searchable government publications from all branches of the Federal Government, such as the Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Record, Federal Register, Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, GAO Reports, congressional bills, hearings, reports, etc.

Digital National Security Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
DNSA consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions from 1945 to the present. Each collection is assembled by foreign policy experts and features chronologies, glossaries, bibliographies, and scholarly overviews.

Science.gov
A public gateway to federal websites and databases. Sources selected by U.S. government agencies as their best science information.

Transparent Utah
Access to state salaries, revenues, and expenses.
Utah Government Digital Library
Access Utah's vital statistics and reports on air quality.
Utah Dept. of Administrative Services, Research Guides
Use these guides to understand how people and organizations have interacted with government over time, leaving a historical record. Most contain curated lists of records available to the public at the Research Center.
Utah.gov Demographics and Statistics
Utah State Board of Education Data and Statistics