Subject Guides: Journalism & Sports Media: Sports Media

Olympics & Paralympics

CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window
Country-by-country listing of basic statistical and factual information. Updated annually.
Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
A country-by-country listing with elections, economic, and other infrastructure data. The "Comparative Statistics" tool helps you compare data and population.

Eugenio Hansen, OFS, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Statista This link opens in a new window
Search for "Olympics" to find a history of the Summer Olympic Games and stats on athletes and medal counts. Subscription paid by BYU Library.

Olympic Records via World Athletics
Olympic Results
Select "Olympic Games" to link to results from past Summer games.
World Para Athletic Records
Paralympic Results

Historical Dictionary of the Olympic Movement by John Grasso; Bill Mallon; Jeroen Heijmans
Publication Date: 2015
More than 1,000 entries on athletes, sports, history, and politics of the Olympics.

MORE: Historical dictionaries of sport (Boxing, Wrestling, Soccer, Tennis, and more!)

Gender Equality and the Olympic Programme by Michele K. Donnelly
Publication Date: 2022
Sheds new light on the issues of gender and inclusion at the Olympic Games. Incorporating both quantitative and qualitative data, the book identifies and analyzes the changes -- and remaining gender differences -- made in the Olympics for London 2012, and each of the subsequent Summer and Winter Olympic Games (Sochi 2014, Rio 2016, and Pyeongchang 2018), as well as the Tokyo 2020 and Beijing 2022 Games.
The Gold in the Rings by Stephen R. Wenn; Robert Barney
Publication Date: 2020
Once a showcase for amateur athletics, the Olympic Games have become a global entertainment colossus powered by corporate sponsorship and professional participation. This book maps the Olympics' course from paragon of purity to billion-dollar profits.
Hosting the Olympic Games by Marie Delaplace (Editor); Pierre-Olaf Schut (Editor)
Publication Date: 2019
Broad and comprehensive analysis of past Olympic and Paralympic events, shedding critical light on the future of the Games with a specific look at the Paris 2024 Olympics. Individual chapters highlight the various controversies of the Games throughout the bidding process, the event itself, and its aftermath.
Olimpismo: The Olympic Movement in the Making of Latin America and the Caribbean
Publication Date: 2020
Examines the rich and complex involvement of Latin America and the Caribbean peoples with the Olympic Movement, serving as an effective medium to explore the making of this region.
Olympic Cities: City Agendas, Planning and the World's Games, 1896-2031
Publication Date: 2024
Part I: Overviews of the urban legacy of the Summer Games, Winter Games, Cultural Olympiads, and the Paralympics. Part II: Surveys of six key aspects of staging the Olympics and Paralympics: finance; sustainability; the creation of Olympic Villages; security; urban regeneration; and tourism. Part III: Portraits of host cities from 1960 to 2032, with complete coverage of the Summer Games of the twenty-first century.
Routledge Handbook of the Olympic and Paralympic Games by Dikaia Chatziefstathiou (Editor); Borja García (Editor); Benoit Séguin (Editor)
Publication Date: 2020
Analysis of current and future economic, commercial, socio-political, cultural and governance challenges facing both the Olympic and Paralympic Games, their athletes and institutions.
Understanding the Olympics by John Horne; Garry Whannel
Publication Date: 2020
How did the Olympics evolve into a multi-national phenomenon? How can the Olympics help us to understand the relationship between sport and society? This book answers all these questions by exploring the social, cultural, political, historical, and economic context of the Games, including a look at upcoming host cities, Paris (2024) and Los Angeles (2028).

Stats

Statista This link opens in a new window
Search for "Olympics" to find a history of the Summer Olympic Games and stats on athletes and medal counts. Or, search by country or sport to find related statistics. Subscription paid by BYU Library.

Sports Reference
Sports stats on professional baseball, basketball, football, and hockey, plus college football, basketball, and soccer.

AP Stylebook

AP Stylebook This link opens in a new window
AP Stylebook Online is a searchable resource for writers and editors. It is updated throughout the year and valuable online-only resources, including Ask the Editor, Topical Guides and Pronunciation Guide, expand on the print book’s content.

Sports Magazines

These magazines are accessible and fully searchable via library database subscriptions.

2022 - present
HTML access

1994 - present
Full color, article-level access

1999 - present
Full color, article-level access

1992 - present
Full color, article-level access

2022 - present
HTML access

1984 - present
Full color, article-level access

PRO TIP:

Use the Libby app to find digital editions of more sports-related magazines. Public libraries often subscribe to hundreds (or thousands!) of digital magazines that are available on demand through the Libby app. Use your public library card -- either connected to your permanent address or your Provo City Library card -- to connect with these options. Live in Provo or Orem, but don't have a library card? It's easy to get one.

Major Newspapers

The Library provides access to the following major daily newspapers.

The New York Times
1923 - present
Direct access to online edition

Follow link above to
create an account using
your @byu.edu email.
Download the NYT app
on your devices or log
in online using your
@byu.edu email.

The Boston Globe
1997 - present
HTML access

Chicago Tribune
1996 - present
HTML access

Los Angeles Times
1996 - present
HTML access

The Wall Street Journal
1984 - present
HTML access

The Washington Post
1987 - present
HTML access

1997 - present
HTML access

E-Books

Search the library's collection of e-books using terms like:

Sports (OR: sporting event, competitive sport, sports administration, etc.)
Olympics
Paralympics
Racism in Sports (OR: African American athletes, etc.)
Sports and Women (OR: women in sports, female athletes, etc.)
Soccer (OR: tennis, competitive swimming, football, gymnastics, etc.)

Pro Tip: If working remotely, filter results to E-books (listed under Resource Type):

Sports Journals

Communication & Sport

Journal of
Intercollegiate Sport

Journal of Sports Analytics

Journal of Sport History

Journal of
Sport Management

Journal of Sports Media

Sport History Review

The Sport Journal

Sport Marketing Quarterly

Women in Sport
and Physical Activity Journal

PRO TIP: For more journals like these, search any of the databases listed below.

Scholarly Articles & Databases

Sports

SPORTDiscus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Research on sports, coaching, sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, physical education and fitness.

Business

Business Source Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, popular business magazines, and trade publications, including the Harvard Business Review. Covers banking, finance, international business, management, marketing, real estate, and technology.
Gale Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
International business intelligence offering case studies, in-depth statistical data and the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, and videos.

Communications

Communication Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Communications and mass media.

General / Multi-Disciplinary

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window

Social Sciences

APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Psychiatry, medicine, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, anthropology, business, and law.
ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.

Women / Gender

Women's Studies International (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, newspapers, books, newsletters, and reports spanning 1972 to the present. Supports research in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.
Gender Watch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. Contains archival material dating back to the mid 1970s.

Market Research & Sports Fans

Sports Market Analytics (SBRnet) This link opens in a new window
Market research and participation rates for sports and recreation. Includes industry-developed market research, government statistics, facility reports, directories, and news.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Reports on consumer markets and trends. Segmentation, branding, positioning, and psychographics. Rich insight into consumer behavior and lifestyles. Coverage is deepest for the U.S.
IBIS World This link opens in a new window
Reports on over 1,000 industries: size, barriers to entry, segmentation, cost structures, etc. Search for "sports," "athlete" or "athletic" to find sports-related industries.
For educational use only. Content may not be disclosed or resold to outside companies.