Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Humanities & Media Librarian
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm
Pro Tip for Remote Access: Login to the Library Website
Login to the library website for the best access to online resources. Look for the Login icon in the upper right corner.
NEW: AP Stylebook Online
AP Stylebook Online
AP Stylebook Online is a searchable resource for writers and editors. It is updated throughout the year and valuable online-only resources, including Ask the Editor, Topical Guides and Pronunciation Guide, expand on the print book’s content.
How to Use this Guide
The News Media & Journalism Research Guide helps you find resources relevant to your research and writing for News Media classes. Each tab specializes in a particular area:
- Background & Specialized Resources: find helpful dictionaries and encyclopedias for the first phase of your research, then find specialized databases for more specific searches.
- News Sources: find current and historical news sources published in the United States and internationally.
- Reports & Statistics: find resources for basic industry and market research, plus national and international demographics and information about non-profit organizations.
- Government Information: track federal legislation, House and Senate salaries, plus public records in Utah.
Free Access to The New York Times!
The BYU Library subscribes to The New York Times online edition so you can have daily access to national and international news. Follow these simple instructions to create an account at nytimes.com.
Core News Sources
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO)
Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Provides access to full-text newspapers and allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields.
This ProQuest database provides full text of more than 700 U.S. and international news sources. Includes The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Years of coverage vary by title.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. This current database begins its coverage in 1990.