Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Walt Whitman Collection: Reference Works

New resources in Special Collections

Whitman Bibliographies

Joel Myerson. Walt Whitman: a descriptive bibliography. Pittsburgh series in bibliography. Pittsburgh: University of Pittsburgh Press, 1993.

    Call number: Special Collections Reference PS 3231 .X1 M93 1993
    Supplement Volume, Call number: Whitman Collection PS 3231 .M94 2011 Suppl.

William White. Walt Whitman’s journalism: a bibliography. Reprinted from the Walt Whitman review, Sept. 1968 (XIV, 67-141). Detroit: Wayne State University Press, 1969.

    Call number: Whitman Collection PS 3231 .X1 W55 1969

Library of Congress. Reference Department. Walt Whitman: a catalog based upon the collections of the Library of Congress. Boston: J.S. Canner, 1967.

    Call number: Whitman Collection PS 3231 .X1 L68 1967

General Reference Works

J.R. LeMaster and Donald D. Kummings, eds. Walt Whitman: an encyclopedia. Garland reference library of the humanities, vol. 1877. New York: Garland, 1998.

    Call number: Whitman Collection PS 3230 .W35 1998

Joann P. Krieg. A Whitman chronology. Iowa Whitman series. Iowa City: University of Iowa Press, 1998.

    Call number: Whitman Collection PS 3231 .A2 1998

Edwin H. Eby. A concordance of Walt Whitman’s Leaves of grass and selected prose writings. Seattle: University of Washington Press, 1949-54. 5 vols.

    Call number: Whitman Collection PS 3245 .E2 1949-52

Subject Guide

Maggie Kopp's picture
Maggie Kopp
Contact:
I am currently offering virtual consultations due to COVID-19. Please contact me via email, the appointment scheduling link, or voicemail.
(801) 422-6276

Visit Special Collections