The Whitman Collection contains many illustrated editions of Whitman's poetry, including modern fine art books and original sketches for a proposed illustrated edition of Whitman’s “Leaves of Grass” by Maynard Dixon (Call number: Vault Collection Quarto 811 .38 L48 1933). One of these sketches is pictured here.

George Fetherling.  Walt Whitman’s secret.  Random House Canada, 2010.

Call number: Whitman Collection PR 9199.3 .F475 W35 2010

Randolph G. Goodman.  I, Walt Whitman.  The Library Associates of Brooklyn College, 1955. Presentation copy, inscribed on front fly leaf.

Call number: Whitman Collection PS 3513 .O5288 I2 1955

Judith Grace.  Good-bye, my fancy: with Walt Whitman in his last days.  Ulysses Books, 2003.

Call number: Whitman Collection PS 3608 .R326 G66 2003

Grant Martin Overton.  The answerer.  Harcourt, Brace & Co., 1921.

Call number: Whitman Collection PS 3529 .V39 A67 1921

To you, Walt Whitman: speaking to Walt Whitman, a collection of poetry.  Selected by Betty J. Keller, design and illustrations by Ronald Keller.  Red Angel Press, 1997.

Call number: Whitman Collection PS 3238 .T63 1997

Michael Robertson.  Worshipping Walt: the Whitman disciples.  Princeton University Press, 2008.

Call number: Whitman Collection PS 3231 .R58 2008

Bryan K. Garman.  A race of singers: Whitman’s working-class hero from Guthrie to Springsteen.  University of North Carolina Press, 2000.

Call number: Whitman Collection ML 3477 .G36 2000

Neeli Cherkovski.  Whitman’s wild children.  Lapis Press; Distributed by Publishers Services, 1988.

Call number: Whitman Collection PS 310 .B43 C44 1988

Ruth L. Bohan.  Looking into Walt Whitman: American art, 1850-1920.  Pennsylvania State University Press, 2006.

Call number: Whitman Collection PS 3234 .A66 B64 2006