It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides an integrated view of the history of our global community from a 21st-century perspective, with a focus on environmental and social issues. The 580 articles, edited and written by scholars around the world, examine connections and interactions made over time (and across cultures and locales) through trade, warfare, migration, religion, and diplomacy. Extensive coverage of the arts in various cultures.
The first comprehensive revision of this classic reference source, originally published in 1940, features updated and revised entries from previous editions, as well as more than 800 new entries covering recent events and topics not covered previously. This authoritative work serves students, scholars, and general readers interested in a wide range of topics in American history, from the well studied and familiar to the obscure.
Find more electronic encyclopedias specializing in histories of specific countries, time periods, issues, etc. here.
Periodical Article Indexes
America: History and Life (EBSCO)A database focusing on the History of the U.S. and Canada. This database includes scholarly articles, book reviews and dissertations dealing with history in the Americas from pre-history to the present. Publication coverage is from 1964 to the present.
For personal, non-commercial, educational, and research purposes only.
Humanities Source (EBSCO)The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Global news and business information service including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires, The Wall Street Journal, and thousands of other national and international newspapers in multiple languages. Also provides financial market data and company information.
This ProQuest database provides full text of more than 700 U.S. and international news sources. Includes The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Years of coverage vary by title.
No systematic downloading of this database is allowed
Any copies of articles or other materials from this database must include appropriate citation information (title, author, publisher, copyright notice, etc.) and must be deleted when no longer in use.
Use one of these tools to import references of books, articles, and websites into folders and keep them organized. Create in-text citations and format your bibliography for your paper too.
RefWorks 3.0The new RefWorks lets you save and share an unlimited number of references, full-text, and other research materials. Generate bibliographies and citations and integrate with either Word or Google Docs.
Help documents for using this version can be found at this link.
ZoteroA free Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources.